And Just Like That She is Three

February 3, 2014

3 year old cakeFia even says that “3” is her number instead of running around insisting she is six, but I’m still not sure she knows what that means.  For her birthday party we had a backyard toboggan party, which I will talk more about later.  I was very proud of my snowman cake, which is why it is pictured at left!  Isn’t he cute?  He was also an excuse to buy Oreo cookies, which I love so much and therefore never buy.  Fia ate more of the jujubes instead of eating the cake, but she ate more later.  I think this may be the last year I can invite our friends over for her party, next year I may have to have a “friends from school” party which will be interesting.  The most stressful party of her party was the grab bags, what to put in them, how many to buy, age appropriate toys or not, and I wanted the items to be useful and not totally throw away.  I found some felt bags, a light up ball, a car, and paints for each kid.

3 little piggies and their MummyI also managed to finish the pig family!  They only got eyes and noses this weekend, before then they were the poor blind pig family.  They are a hit, and no wonder they are so soft and cuddly.  I am using them as pillows at night when I put Fia to sleep, and I like to cuddle with the Mummy pig as well.  Fia kept finding pigs in my knitting bag, she is still looking in my bags asking if there are more pigs.  The pig pattern is from Debbie Bliss Toys book, and the yarn is Crystal Palace Cotton Chenille, which is impossible to find in Calgary.  Next time I see it in a store I’m going to stock up for sure, I love making toys out of it!

 

2 Responses to “And Just Like That She is Three”

  1. margene said

    She’s three!?! If everyone had fun then the party was a success. It sounds like fun time and the cake looks delish!

  2. Monica said

    Cute cake & piggies!! Happy birthday, Fia!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

