What is in a Title?

November 30, 2007

So what does “Knitting Under Water” refer to anyways, and how did I come up with that name?  I thought of it a little while ago when I started to get more interested in making a blog.  I was thinking about how to combine knitting (the main theme) and water (a main theme of my life).  The “Under” part just popped in between the two words. 

I have been knitting since my Mum taught me around the age of 5.  (Perhaps if I get this wrong, Mum can jump in on the comments section here, I think her memory is going to be much better than mine).  I remember knittng something with lots of holes in it.  I knit a pencil case, and sewed in a zipper, and clothes for my stuffed toys.  When I was a teenager I decided to make a sweater and Mum bought me a lovely kit from Mary Maxim, it was a torquoise and pink joked fair isle pattern.  For the 80’s it wasn’t that bad.  My Mum knits, as did my Grandmother, or Bonma.  (Good mother in french).  Bonma used to knit sweaters for a store in Toronto, as well as for her kids and husband.  I still have and wear sweaters that she made.  In fact I have an unfinished sweater of hers that one day I would like to complete. 

Water is a very pervasive theme in my life.  My astrological sign is Picses.  My Chinese zodiac sign is the Ox in the year of yin water.  And my profession is water treatment, mostly drinking water these days.  I also deal with treating water for industrial purposes however.  I’ve been doing water treatment for ten years now, and am still fascinated as there is so much to learn.  A flavour of the type of systems I work on is:

loaded-franklin-modules.jpg

That facility treats water in Idaho.  If the plant fails, people could get sick!  If the plant doesn’t make any water, the operators have to call the firefighters and tell them not to fight any fires.  This summer I was working in a town in Wyoming where it almost came to that!  I worked through the night to try and fix the problem.  (And knit in front of the computer watching the system). 

view-of-egg-farm.jpgBut sometimes there is a beautiful view!  And I get to play with chemicals:

anne-working-sniffing.jpg

I do believe I’m trying to smell for chlorine in that particular photo.  Please note the safety precautions of safety glasses and gloves!  Safety First people!

I’m off to skate at the Olympic Oval tonight!  Tomorrow, stay tuned as I’ll reveal my cool new office that I’m moving into since you know who has finally moved out!  (That’s just a test to see if he’s really reading this!)

9 Responses to “What is in a Title?”

  1. Eileen said

    Hi Anne, We miss you.

    And, I *swear* I read your blog name as “Knitting Underwear” the first time. I’m such a chowderhead.

    Eileen

  2. margene said

    Fascinating! Are you finally settling into your new place, new life, new job?

  3. Mom said

    I forgot to mention that it was made with acrylic yarn

  4. How interesting! Love the pics of the water system. Do you still have Sweater #1? Picture?

  5. Carla said

    Ha! Knitting Underwear can be your secret blog name. I love it. It would be fun to have a “first sweater” night at SnB. Everyone wears their first attempt, no matter how embarrassing. Or a “worst sweater” night…

  6. Cheryl S. said

    I’m glad you explained your blog title!

  7. AuntieK said

    I remember a tea cosy that was I think a plain off-white and an intarsia sweater with a canoe on it. I do believe the tea cosy is still floating around somewhere, at your brother’s maybe?

  8. Tammy Morrow said

    I got here from Zeneedle link. I look forward to reading your blog. I’m a process safety engineer by way of industrial hygiene and have also treated my fair share of potable water (just small non-community systems)! Fun stuff! But of course – I am a knitter to the core! Looking forward to seeing knitting too! Tammy

  9. David Blair said

    Yes I finaly moved out. The office is all yours now. I have new office with a very diffrent view. I don’t know how to knit or anyhting about knitting I just like trolling Knitting blogs for kicks.

Leave a Reply

