A Skating Adventure in Lake Louise

December 31, 2007

What better way to spend a day than to go to the mountains and skate in one of the most beautiful settings on the continent?  But Beware!!

thin-ice.jpg

But for the brave the reward is to enter the beautiful castle made of ice!

ice-castle.jpg

Just be careful to avoid all the tourists guarding it with their flash cameras! 

What is a girl to do in such a gorgeous setting but to spin!

anne-spinning.jpg

And in general to mess around on the ice…

spread-eagle-lake-louise.jpg

skating-with-leg-out.jpg

I love skating with the cute pom-pom on this hat:

annes-hat-spinning.jpg

It is from a 1960’s Aran sweater pattern book.  My Mum had made me a pink one when I was a kid, but it got lost along the way.  A few years ago I remade it in some leftover yarn, and it makes me feel like a kid again.  Its a lot of fun!

Of course messing around like this can get you into other people’s home videos.  Note the guy in yellow taping me…  We had to relocate the photo shoot!

being-videoed.jpg

anne-in-ice-castle.jpg

Happy New Year to one and all from Anne, Jack and Piper (meow!)

(Thanks to Mr. T for his excellent photography skills, and patience.  We only lasted about 20 minutes due to cold feet, but the hot chocolate warmed us up!)

5 Responses to “A Skating Adventure in Lake Louise”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Great photos of you on the ice!

    Have a wonderful New Year!

  2. margene said

    You make the ice look fun…cold but fun!
    Happy New Year!

  3. Carla said

    Yeay, beautiful stuff!

  4. jantientje said

    oooh, to have a place like that to skate….wonderful. Being Dutch, I love skating, but we have no ice. No natural ice that is.

    Happy new year!

  5. You’ve made me homesick for the mountains, Anne. I hope I can fly out to see you at the end of March when I’m in Canada, maybe even pack my skates and go along with you if you’re doing any late season skating at Lake Louise.

Leave a Reply

