What Does Carbon Footprint Have to do with Sweet Yarn?

February 7, 2008

The buzz in Canada is reducing your carbon footprint, and other environmental initiatives.  Using fabric bags (at least one major grocery store here charges you 5 cents a bag), conserving electricity, not driving your car as much are all items much discussed in the media.  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate how much these issues are discussed in the media, and by Canadians.  An article recently published in the Calgary Herald detailed some ways to reduce your footprint, the largest suggestion of which was to eat as much food produced locally.  In this way you can eliminate the carbon emissions, fossil fuel usage, and waste of transporting food over long distances.  The best way of course to do this (unless you are so lucky to have a garden) is to go to the Farmer’s Market.  I haven’t made it to one in Calgary yet (bad Anne), but I often got to the very nice one in Salt Lake.  Of course the markets in Southern Ontario cannot be beat, and I haven’t seen their equal yet. 

This philosophy can also be applied to yarn, can’t it?  The yarn for my EPS sweater proudly proclaims “Grown and processed in Alberta”.  Yesterday in Saskatoon I visited a wonderful shop named the Wool Emporium.  It was a very nice shop, with a wall of yarn supplied by local farmers.  The tags were hand drawn, much of the yarn was natural colours, and hand spun, or hand dyed.  Alpaca, wool, blends, llama, it was so hard to choose something to take home with me.  In the end I could not resist some wool from a breed of Icelandic sheep in a natural brown colour. 

blue-icelandic-yarn.jpg

I may be biased, but to me this is the perfect colour of brown.  The tag proclaims it is made by TLC Icelandics from  Blackfoot Alberta ( I know I bought Alberta wool in Saskatchewan, but see above for perfect colour of brown reference).  It is two ply, and is a heavy lace weight, or sock weight.  I  believe it will make a perfect Pi shawl, EZ patterns are perfectly suited for naturally coloured yarns.

brown-icelandic-yarn-close.jpg

I feel very glad that local yarns are so beautiful, and glad that I absolutely love so many of them.  I’m feeling inspired by them, I know there will be much more in my future.  And maybe I’m reducing my carbon footprint a teensy bit? 

2 Responses to “What Does Carbon Footprint Have to do with Sweet Yarn?”

  1. Anne said

    What a fantastic idea! And how wonderful that you have a great local resource for wool nearby. Cool!

  2. margene said

    Great post…wonderful ideals and ideas!

Leave a Reply

