I. Hate. Valentine’s. Day.

February 14, 2008

 I have a long standing relationship of hate with Valentine’s Day.  My dog died on Valentine’s Day.  In school, they would organize flower or chocolate drives where you could buy your sweetheart something, and they would deliver it to the classroom on Valentine’s Day.  I. Never. Got. Anything.  And the worse part is that I would be sitting there trying to disappear, and hope that someone, somebody would have sent me flowers.  Maybe I had a secret admirer I didn’t know about?  No.  I’m not sure if you are aware but geeky smart girls aren’t very popular in rural communities.  Especially weird ones like me with no fashion sense and I still can’t do make-up properly.  But here is a pretty picture to cheer me up:

black-rose.jpg

Black rose!  Very anti-Valentine’s Day! Thanks D.O.D. (Dear Old Dad).

Here is something else to cheer me up.  It’s time for “Pay it Forward!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”  Here is how it works:

I will send a handmade gift to the first 3 people who leave a comment on my blog requesting to join this PIF exchange. I don’t know what that gift will be yet and you may not receive it tomorrow or next week, but you will receive it within 365 days, that is my promise! The only thing you have to do in return is pay it forward by making the same promise and pay it forward to 3 other people.  Make something nice for someone you know, or for charity!

I changed the terms there to take out the blog requirement, since a lot of people reading don’t have them, they remain blog-free as they say.  Just remember, I’m a bit of an overachiever! 

And I do actually have a date tonight, I’m going to see a play.  I will wear make-up, a dress, and my new Montego Bay scarf!  Maybe there will be photos?  Stay tuned!

5 Responses to “I. Hate. Valentine’s. Day.”

  1. Well, if it makes you feel any better, Valentine’s Day around our house is just another day in the year, has been like that for a long time. But just so you know you weren’t the only one to suffer humilation, I got talked into signing up for a computer dating service my first year at university and was set up with my perfect match – a very nice dog, a real one, black lab. Fortunately, I was suspicious when Carny’s “friend” had to phone and make the arrangements with me, telling me Carny was too chy to phone me himself. So I asked a friend to go along with me to meet my “date.” Ended up going out with the dog’s owner – so you can never tell with these things. And I’ve never worn makeup either, Kiddo. Hate the stuff, as much as I hate Valentine’s Day. Looks like we really do have a lot in common. (Auntie K. reminded me of the computer dating story and told me I should post it to your blog so you’d feel better knowing your other non-knitting aunt had similar geeky experiences and feelings when she was young and foolish. The dog-date thing was pretty funny at the time though.)

  2. Katherine said

    You’re definitely not alone in not enjoying Valentine’s Day and having negative memories of it. I have no particular horror stories, just years of embarrasses outside-ness. I just don’t think it’s a very valuable holiday for anyone, really.

    I’m married now, as you know, and we don’t observe Valentine’s Day. I wanted to for a couple of years, but then got tired of the made-upness of the whole thing and also the fact that it seems to just be a buying frenzy for gifts for WOMEN. What the hell? What am I supposed to get for Brad? Roses?!?! Stupid stereotype-strengthening holiday.

    I did stay up late last night making friendship bracelets for my son’s preschool class’s V-Day party, though. Can’t knock that.

  3. Sonia K. said

    It is fun helping my teenagers with their Valentines…waiting in line this morning to buy cut flowers for my son’s girlfriend, knitting a red and white toque for my daughter’s boyfriend. For my hubby a nice “Second Cup” coffee card. For the dog – a big walk in the off leash area.

    Enjoying your blog.

  4. Sunnyknitter said

    Valentine’s day, pffft — just seems to result in foolish expectations and/or hurt feelings. Or maybe that’s just my luck! I’m glad it’s over for another year. Have a happy Friday!

  5. Ah… makeup sucks… I found your blog through ravelry… but its cheering to hear your rant. Good luck with the cold… I’m thinking of heading out that way or farther north in the next couple of years.. so I’m investing in lots of long underwear. Wool is great.. but fleece long johns aren’t too bad either. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

