The Journey…

February 29, 2008

The directions are simple: Leave Calgary and drive south, head for the US border.  Get onto I-15, stop in Salt Lake.  I left at 4 am, long before any other traffic thought about getting on the road.  Bless Tim Hortons and their all night drive-thru, coffee, extra-large, and a blueberry fritter please!  The sun came up in Montana, Big Sky Country:

big-sky-montana.jpg

On the right of the highway you can just see the Rockies, where Glacier National Park is.  Once south of Great Falls, you go into some lovely mountains, Helena, and Butte are two cute little cities nestled into valleys in the mountains.  I know where to get skinny lattes in both places now.

helena-montana.jpgbutte-montana.jpg

My favorite road sign on the whole trip:

divide-wisdom.jpg

The gateway to Idaho is a higher elevation, and still covered in a lot of snow.  I’ve had the pleasure of navigating quite bad blizzards in the section on previous trips.

idaho.jpg

Eventually the mountains are left behind and a large lake basin is traversed, with Idaho Falls as the destination on the far side.  I always look for the giant Budweiser Silos on the east side of the highway, with their giant Clydesdales:

budweiser.jpg

I rolled into Salt Lake as a brilliant crimson and pink sunset took up the entire western sky.  My photos did not turn out, as they merely highlighted how dirty the windows of my car are!  But as there was a bit of an inversion, the sunset was more brilliant than normal.  I’m now getting to the end of the training, and it hasn’t been as bad as I was worried about.  Its been lovely visiting with old friends, and sleeping in my own bed!  Back to the grind now:

training-presentations.jpg

5 Responses to “The Journey…”

  1. margene said

    Welcome back! This morning there isn’t a bit of inversion left as it’s so windy. My Moab be full of sun and warmth for you!

  2. Technically, that Waterton-Glacier National Park…

  3. Sunnyknitter said

    I’ve made that drive many times and it is beautiful. If you want to visit you just keep coming south and hang a left on I-10, just in case you need to warm up or soothe your wearing bones in a hot tub! Hope you have a great ride.

  4. Sunnyknitter said

    Happy birthday!

  5. Jocelyn said

    Boo for work.

    Yay for fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

