Listless Wednesday

April 16, 2008

Have you ever felt listless?  That is about it today for me.  Today I’m happy to sit at my desk and work away, and not have to run around a construction site.  This afternoon I’m going to start trying to learn AutoCad, cause its about time.  Wish me luck!  I have been busy working away on a few projects, and have some progress reports.  First up are my lovely Kilt hose, which I’m still in love with.  The leg pattern is so simple, and so beautiful, I’m loving the way the calf decreases work, and a little point is made.

And now I have a deadline to finish these!  Well, sort of, its in November which I’m sure I can do.  I signed up for the Make 1 Fall Retreat here in Alberta.  The retreat is very expensive, and I’m feeling guilty about signing up.  However the teachers are Nancy Bush (my number one choice, and I have to wear her Kilt Hose to her class!!) Cookie A (second choice) Amy Singer and Stephenie Pearl-McPhee.  It sounded a bit “once in a lifetime” to me.  And my other justification to myself is that I’ve never done anything like this, and why not?  Why not indeed, so I signed up, plus a bit of peer pressure was exerted.  Now I’m really looking forward to it.  And since I can’t go to Miriam’s lace classes, I signed up for one here in May.  I figured its about time I start taking lessons.  Another reason why I can do these things is that I’m finally not traveling continuously.  This time last year I was hardly ever home, and was gone almost 90% of the year.  And you are surprised I got out of that job?  Being home most of the time is such a wonderful change, and I love it.  I can plan things in advance, and do other things than just work, work, work.   

I have another project that is seriously calling to me, so much so that I got it out of the closet last night in order to you know, just look at it.

The plan is to make this into the lace ribbon scarf from the latest Knitty, unless the yarn is too stripey or it pools.  Maybe I’ll wind it into a ball tonight.  And maybe I’ll start the scarf this weekend.  My twinset is coming along, I’m almost half way up the back of the cardigan.  I should have the cardigan ready to sew up by the end of the weekend, then one front and two sleeves plus neck for the small sweater.  It is just a boring pile of yarn, so no photos!

3 Responses to “Listless Wednesday”

  1. Jocelyn said

    Why not indeed! And did you see the Spa menu?

    Those socks are tempting me…

  2. Wow, you are going to have such a great time! Good for you!

  3. Sunnyknitter said

    Love the kilt hose. Envious of your retreat, sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

