The Growing Lace Ribbon, and the Stagnant Ball

May 2, 2008

The lace ribbon is growing apace, mostly during my lunch hour:

I have a habit when making something long like this of measuring it regularly and noting it in my day timer.  It makes me feel good when I can really see what progress I am making.  I also thought it would be fun to make a chart about it, and estimate my finish time based on the slope of the line.  Then I continued the thought by measuring the diameter of the ball of yarn, since I’m basically stopping when the yarn is gone, not when the scarf is a specific length.  I noticed a very interesting detail; the scarf had grown over a foot, and the ball remains the same diameter.  Now how can that be?  Could the ball of yarn be expanding as more tightly constrained strands are removed from the outer shell?  Could the yarn be so fine that I truly am not using any of it?  I seem to be using a great deal, but I see no change.  I am using the same procedure, and the same ruler to measure the ball.  Now I know I have a habit of over analyzing everything, but come on, this is fun.  I must design an experiment….

In other fun news, Its the weekend!!!  The most exciting thing I”m doing this weekend by far is going to see Stars on Ice.  And you know who will be there, the incredible Kurt Browning!!!  For those not in the know, here is one of his best routines!  And here is another favorite: Here!  I’ve seen Ice shows in the States, and they are fun.  The audience politely claps, they kind of know who the people are.  Canadian audiences on the other hand, go absolutely wild at these shows!  They love their skaters, even if they never won a gold medal.  Back in the day, when Kurt Browning skated you could hear the music for all the screaming and cheering.  It was a mad house at the old Gardens in Toronto.  I’ve waited seven years to see another show in Canada, and I can’t wait.

And if you are wondering why Kristie Y is doing so well at Dancing with the Stars, I found an old video from when she was a pair skater at Nationals in 1989.  And next week they allow lifts?  Kristie is thinking “How many changes can I put into one lift, how many hand positions, and may I do a death drop at the end”, while everyone else is worried about falling.  No contest!

7 Responses to “The Growing Lace Ribbon, and the Stagnant Ball”

  1. margene said

    You totally crack me up.

  2. Auntie Kathy said

    Throw the ball of yarn out of your office window and see if you can hit one of those trucks. That’s the experiment I would do.

  3. Monica said

    Dancing with the Stars Misc. Trivia: Derek & Julianne’s father is the president of the company my husband work’s for. He gets all of the inside scoop… to bad we don’t watch the show. I’m glad you found my blog! 🙂 ~Monica

  4. Cheryl S. said

    Woo hoo! I’m just a total sucker for well-muscled arms.

  5. Sunnyknitter said

    Thanks for the Browning fix! I’ll be thinking of you at the show this weekend. You’re so right about Canadian skating fans, entirely different than in the States. Now I have to go play some Tragically Hip tomorrow when I drive out to meet the knitters…

  6. Can’t wait to see you next blog post…

  7. Dude, you should weigh it on the mass balance! You could ‘weigh’ it to the 1000th of a gram!

Leave a Reply

