Biking: An obsession

June 5, 2008

I did my first ride from the new burb pad this morning, which took less time than I had predicted, about 75 minutes.  Last night I put skinnier tires on my old hardtail mountain bike, which certainly helped boost my speed up.  My poor old bike, its so ashamed to be seen in its wimpy tires and back rack!  Please don’t mention I’m also considering a fender, the bike will never talk to me again!  Err, not that it does now.  I’m finding it interesting the reaction I get from people when I mention my goal to ride my bike everywhere I can.  My russian co-worker can’t seem to wrap his head around why I wouldn’t just drive to the train and take the train in.  Well, I don’t want to drive my car, plus its hard to find a parking spot at the train station.  Don’t worry, I’m busy bringing him around to the dark side. 

The first mountain bike race I want to enter is only two weeks away, so I need to get all the miles in I can.  Plus the fact that the trails are melting out, and its light before 5:30 am (my current alarm time) until after 11 pm, means there is plenty of riding time.  Plus its fun, its so much fun to ride your bike around town!  Its so much better than sitting in a car, a bus or train.  Plus when I get home at night I don’t need to rush out to the gym, I can sit on the couch and eat and eat and eat.  Cause my appetite has exploded , and I got to feed the beast.  Of course, Mum worries around this time of year, as I’ve been known to hurt myself a few times.  But no pain no gain.  A few videos so that you can laugh along with me!

Yes, my right cheek is still deformed from that one.  But this is even funnier:

And that my friends, was the beginning of how my full suspension bike got its name “Buck”. 

5 Responses to “Biking: An obsession”

  1. Monica said

    Here, here! I wish I could ride everywhere.. it doesn’t work so well with the small fry, though. We’ve considered a tag-along for her, but I don’t think she’d be able to tough our daily commute. Maybe someday.

    And: Your poor bum!

  2. margene said

    OUCH! You are one tough cookie.

  3. Carla said

    ha ha ha. I know very few bikini model-bike racers.

  4. Cheryl S. said

    Oh, ouch! I like the part about sitting on the couch and eating. And eating.

  5. Mom said

    Thank god no one was there with a camera when you bounced your bike. I don’t think I could have handled that.

Leave a Reply

