Summer Solstice

June 20, 2008

It seems to never get dark here now.  I woke up this morning around 4 am for some reason (I have no reason to believe cats were involved in this, as they were both busy staring out their new favorite window and trying to see all the birdies) and there was a definite blue tinge in the sky.  It helps I don’t have any curtains up yet…  When I go to bed after 11 pm it is still a bit light out, enough to bike by anyways.  All in all it is a pleasant switch from the dark depths of the winter (shudder). 

This weekend is the first mountain bike race (for me).  As always I’m a bit nervous about it, but I’m telling myself that its good to have a crappy first race, cause then the next race seems all that much better.  At least this year my teeth aren’t wired shut!  My goal is as always to 1) finish the race 2) not stop 3) have fun.  I try not to think about the other people in the race, or worry about placing, and concentrate on personal goals instead.  I’m just a novice and doing this for fun, so why worry about anything else? I hope they give out ribbons like they did in Salt Lake.  There everyone down to 6th place got a ribbon and got to stand at the podium.  I was working on a collection of all the different colours!

They gave away free ice cream at work today.  Further proof of me being luckiest girl around.  Have a good weekend ya’ll!

4 Responses to “Summer Solstice”

  1. Your goals sound really great! I hope the race is going well!

  2. Bagsnstuff said

    Good for you Ann!
    How did the race go??

  3. Hope the race went well! I look forward to hearing about it!

  4. Jewel said

    Don’t worry about having a bad race and least your out there racing. I’ve just been trying to start walking 4 mile every other day! Then maybe next year I can get back on my bike.

Leave a Reply

