Happy Canada Day Eh!

July 1, 2008

Have I mentioned how happy I am to be back in Canada again?  Don’t get me wrong, I can think of a lot of things I miss about the States, but this is my country, and I loves her.  Even though it was a bit rainy today, the downtown park was full of people having a good time with the multiple music venues, food, martial arts displays and so much more.  I represented in my Canada bike jersey! 

This morning I heard the song “Alberta Bound” by Paul Brandt for the first time, and his lyrics capture so many feelings.  That moment is crystal clear, when at Sweetgrass Montana I handed in my work visa for the last time, grinning from ear to ear.  I was going home!  Now I’m an Ontario girl, and I have the sweet smell of the Ontario forests deep in my blood, but you have to admit, Alberta ain’t so bad! 

Alberta Bound – Paul Brandt

Sign said 40 miles to Canada

My truck tore across Montana

Ian Tyson sang a lonesome lullaby

And so I cranked up the radio

Cause there’s just a little more to go

For I’d cross the border at that Sweet Grass sign

I’m Alberta Bound

This piece of heaven that I’ve found

Rocky Mountains and black fertile ground

Everything I need beneath that big blue sky

Doesn’t matter where I go

This place will always be my home

Yeah I’ve been Alberta Bound for all my life

And I’ll be Alberta Bound until I die

It’s a pride that’s been passed down to me

Deep as coal mines, wide as farmer’s fields

Yeah, I’ve got independence in my veins

Maybe it’s my down-home redneck roots

Or these dusty ‘ol Alberta boots

But like a Chinook wind keeps coming back again

Im Alberta Bound

This piece of heaven that I’ve found

Rocky Mountains and black fertile ground

Everything I need beneath that big blue sky

Doesn’t matter where I go

This place will always be my home

Yeah I’ve been Alberta Bound for all my life

And I’ll be Alberta Bound until I die

Oh and it doesnt matter where I go

this place will always be my home

I have been Alberta bound for all my life

And I’ll be Albert bound until I die

 

And now I’m off to Saskatoon, where I hope to catch the fireworks tonight, then off to the uranium mine tomorrow.  Hope I don’t start to glow!  See ya’ll later in the week!

6 Responses to “Happy Canada Day Eh!”

  1. Mom said

    Yee Haw Eh!

  2. Jewel said

    I want your life you seem to have so much fun. I’m not from Canada but I also love it there, its so beautiful. But my daughter-n-law’s mother is from Canada so that makes my little granddaugter 1/4. Have a great weekend, I’m sure you will. Happy 4th from all of us in the states!!!

  3. margene said

    I’m a little envious of your Canadianship.

  4. Happy Canada Day! I’m glad you’re happy!

  5. Cheryl S. said

    Happy (belated) Canada Day – it’s great to feel like you’re “home”, wherever that is.

  6. Auntie Kathy said

    Happy Canada Day!
    I was out partying on the 1st, ergo the late post.

    When I saw you were posting lyrics to Alberta Bound, here’s what I expected:

    Oh the prairie lights are burning bright
    The Chinook wind is a-moving in
    Tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound
    Though I’ve done the best I could
    My old luck ain’t been so good and
    Tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound
    No one I’ve met could ever forget
    The Rocky Mountain sunset
    It’s a pleasure just to be Alberta bound
    I long to see my next of kin
    To know what kind of shape they’re in
    And tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound

    Chorus:
    Alberta bound Alberta bound
    It’s good to be Alberta bound
    Alberta bound Alberta bound
    It’s good to be Alberta bound

    Oh the skyline of Toronto
    Is something you’ll get onto
    But they say you’ve got to live there for a while
    And if you got the money
    You can get yourself a honey
    With a written guarantee to make you smile

    But it’s snowing in the city
    And the streets and brown and gritty
    And I know there’s pretty girls all over town
    But they never seem to find me
    And the one I left behind me
    Is the reason that I’ll be Alberta bound

    by Gordon Lightfoot.

    Yes, I’m that old. 🙂
    Is there an Ontario forest song?

Leave a Reply

