Stampeding On!

July 8, 2008

Parades attended: 1

Chuck Wagon Races Watched: 18

Grandstand shows: 2

National Anthems: 5 (3 Canadian, 2 US)

(My friend Denise returned to Canada from the US when I did after a few years, and we both had a little tear-up during the opening ceremonies.  It was awesome!)

Ear to Ear grins: Continuous!

And my favorite part?  The Cirque de Soleil acts, especially with the lady in the wheel suspended 50 ft above the stage, running, and the wheel gushing silver, red, and green fireworks. 

 

Can I go again?

 

(Knitting-0)

(Sleep-Minimal)

7 Responses to “Stampeding On!”

  1. Sunnyknitter said

    I’m so jealous! I adore Stampede week. Any event with fireworks spread liberally is all right with me, but especially the joy that is Stampede week. Everybody just seems to have extra fun for some reason. Could it be the beer?

  2. Katherine said

    Yay! A hat picture!! I need a cowboy hat, but it probably wouldn’t suit me as well as you.

    I might even develop a taste for beer (referring to Sunnyknitter’s comment). I’ve been a die-hard anti-beer person married to a die-hard ale-brewer. But this summer’s hot. I can suddenly see the appeal. Wouldn’t you know it also happens to be the summer I’m pregnant and CAN’T change my anti-beer lifestyle.

  3. Jewel said

    Wow! You just don’t stop having a great time. I can’t wait to see what you do next.

  4. margene said

    That sounds like a LOT more fun than the Days of 47!

  5. Looks like a great time!

    18 chuck wagon races? Are they heats or something, or are there multiple categories?

  6. Katie said

    Stampede is coming up in my area. We look forward to it.

  7. Jocelyn said

    Yay for lack of sleep!

Leave a Reply

