Stampede Breakfasts are so good!

July 10, 2008

Even though I didn’t know I was invited until this morning, I sure enjoyed my first Stampede Breakfast put on by my company (breakfast #2).  Mimosas for breakfast are a-okay in my book.  With copious amounts of coffee to offset the amount of champagne (in Calgary apparantly you make a mimosa by filling the glass up with champagne, then adding a dab of orange juice, hic!)  From my office I could also see a free Stampede breakfast in a parking lot on 9th avenue.  Throughout the city there are various free breakfasts you can show up to that are put on by the different chuckwagon teams.  I rode by one this morning that had a band and everything.  How much fun is that? 

In a belated Wednesday update, here are my WIP:

1) The cardigan is growing, albeit slowly and I’m so totally bored with the lace pattern now.  But I continue doggedly onwards, as I would like to wear this pretty thing soon.  The second sleeve is about 6 inches long, I’d like to be done by the end of the weekend.  Then just a button band to knit separately and sew on, which I understand will look asthetically pleasing, but will also be a royal pain in the buttuski. 

2) The Anais tank that I’m making along with the Tour (somehow my e-mail to the lady organizing the knit a long didn’t go through, or she ignored it (sob) but I’m having my own knit a long) is only a swatch so far.  I intend to cast on for the back or front sometime in the next few days.  Do you remember in the Black Stallion when he started really slowly, but ran so fast he caught up and won the race?  Yup, that’s me!

3) I have been working on the Potamus socks, as they are my travel project.  The first sock is done, the second sock is coming along.  I’d like to be getting to the heel soon, cause then you are almost done!  Recently the sock visited the army:

The sock had fun!

 For more Stampede fun, check out this photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/melodramababs/  We were at the races on the same evening!  She’s got some great shots. 

4 Responses to “Stampede Breakfasts are so good!”

  1. Sunnyknitter said

    I can’t believe how homesick I get reading your blog. Sounds like you’re getting the Stampede spirit down, now all I need to know is are you practicing your Yee-ha?

  2. margene said

    You Canadians sure know how to have a good time!

  3. Cheryl S. said

    The cardi is looking great! Love the color.

  4. All this and free breakfast, too?

    A guy my husband goes backpacking with goes up to Calgary every hear he can, and now I can see why!

Leave a Reply

