I do it for 24 Hours!

July 24, 2008

This weekend is the big 24 hr mountain biking race in Canmore that I’m participating in.  And I”ve been told they sell socks that do say “I do it for 24 Hours”, and I’m buying a few pairs cause that is funny!  Now some people ride this race “Solo” which means that whoever wins has ridden the most laps in 24 hours.  And the top people ride it non-stop, at full speed the whole time, as a lot of money is up for grabs, this is the World Championship race.  Other teams are two people, four people, five people, and our team is ten people.  Or a recreational team.  That means that I’ll probably two do laps, maybe three if we are fast (ha!).  All together that will be 3-4.5 hours of riding, which shouldn’t be too hard now should it?  The rest of the time I’ll be hanging out, knitting, eating, drinking (mostly water, sigh) and sleeping.  I think coffee consumption will be extremely high! 

As you know, I’ve been a bit worried after our bear encounter, and specifically during a night lap when I’m out there with just a headlamp.  Will there be a bear hiding behind every tree?  I now have it on good authority that bears sleep all night!  I repeat: bears sleep all night!.  Probably because they are tired from chasing bikers around all day, but I digress.  That means we, all the thousands of participants this weekend, will be perfectly safe!  No need to worry! 

And Mum and Dad:  I promise to be really, really, careful, and ride safely.  I can’t guarantee there won’t be any phone calls that start “Umm, Mum?”, but I will really, really, try to make it not happen. 

And I also promise to come back next week with a race report, which will most likely include photos of cute men in spandex shorts.  And maybe some ladies as well…  Until then, this is where I’ll be:

Me and Buck all the Way!!!

5 Responses to “I do it for 24 Hours!”

  1. Anne said

    Good luck! I hope you have an awesome time with NO BEARS!

  2. Sunnyknitter said

    Have a great time! I’m sending special no-bear mojo too!

  3. margene said

    Good luck! Bike fast and have fun!!!

  4. Carla said

    Bears make you ride faster, so while I hope you don’t actually run into any bears, maybe you should pretend you see them anyway, right? 🙂

    Have a good ride, take lots of notes!

    C

  5. Jewel said

    Be safe and have fun!! Good luck

Leave a Reply

