Vintage Lace Cardigan Done!

July 29, 2008

And in the beautiful colour of “periwinkle” as its been dubbed, instead of the name given by Debbie Bliss “8476”. 

It feels like this sweater took me forever, and I was reminded that I did cast on for it in May.  That’s kind of forever right?  But on the good side, I now have another month to wear it, and it will probably stretch into September and maybe October due to the wool content with the bamboo.  It is very nice and warm to wear around the air conditioned office.  (Yesterday they sent out a big e-mail to everyone in the building that the air-con would be off for 10 minutes.  All I could think was “Good, now I can finally be comfortable in my own office!). 

The pattern is from “Vintage Knits”.  I would not call it an incredibly well written pattern, or a beginner knit by any means as you had to know where the gaps in the instructions were, and fill them in yourself.  The sweater does however fit me well, I just find the arms a bit baggy.  Another downfall of the pattern is there is only one size written up, which it says will be bust sizes 32-38.  I think if you need a 38 bust size you are going to have to up size your needles, loosen your gauge, and pull like hell when you block it! 

The yarn is Debbie Bliss Primo, 70% bamboo, 30% wool.  The colours are lovely, and a wide selection.  So far I like how it knitted up, and the sheen the yarn has.  Wearing the sweater I find it warm, so not really totally a summerweight sweater.  I don’t really like cotton however, and find it “dry” if that makes any sense.  Hence the substitution.  The lace pattern was very nice, but I’m thoughly sick of it after ten million repeats. Now I just need buttons, I’m thinking something “vintagey”. 

6 Responses to “Vintage Lace Cardigan Done!”

  1. margene said

    Well done, especially since you had to fill in the gaps yourself. May you enjoy wearing it for a good long time.

  2. Katherine said

    Yes, it looks nice. Good summer sweater, that’s for sure!

  3. melanie said

    I love that Vintage Knits book! And your cardigan is Lovely. Yes, with a capital L and everything. 🙂

  4. Anne said

    It is very pretty! I love that color – and it’s a good one for you too.

    I actually know just what you mean about cotton.

  5. Jewel said

    I’m still working on a sweater that I cast on to back in April, so good job! Don’t you just love Debbie Bliss colors?

Leave a Reply

