The Friday Before a Long Weekend…

August 1, 2008

Always seems to go a big slower.  The phone isn’t ringing, many people are already on holidays.  The sun outside the office seems to shine brighter, the people on the street seem incredibly happy and tanned.  I know I get to leave 1 hour early today, but it still seems so far away.  I can’t do much work (can I?) as there is no one on the other end of the line to answer my questions, they are already outside having fun.  And this weekend is going to be fun!  For one, the nieces are finally here!  Yup, my brother and his family have arrived in Calgary, and their furniture is due in tomorrow.  Plus this weekend is the Calgary Bike Races, and there will be many fun events to go and see.  I know, what would a weekend be without spandex-clad bottoms?  Sigh!

However the nights are getting longer, and colder.  I know those of you in warmer areas don’t want to hear this, but evenings are going down to the around 55 oF range, and days are only going up to 75oF.  That means that winter is slowly but surely creeping around the door.  And I am not nearly prepared, and am starting to panic!  I’ve got to get working on knee high socks, scarves, hats, mittens, sweaters!  Oh my!  Therefore today, August 1, I begin the official “Knitting to Survive the Winter in Calgary Campaign”.  Let’s see if I make it and come out warm on the other side of spring?  Be afraid, be very afraid!!

And, because they seem to love their cowbells so much here in Calgary:
song chart memes

Happy Long (another long weekend just cause we want another long weekend in the summer) holiday Weekend all you Canadians!  And for those poor Americans going to work on Monday…Thwwwt!  After 7 years I get to say that!
more graph humor and song chart memes

2 Responses to “The Friday Before a Long Weekend…”

  1. Jocelyn said

    Yay for neices!! Hope you have a fun weekend!

  2. Jewel said

    Winter is coming to fast,I noticed this past week that its darker then it was the week before when I get to work. I’m not ready for it and yes there is alot of knitting of socks and mittens to get done.

Leave a Reply

