Happy House Warming To ME!!

August 26, 2008

This is a previously planned blog post that was rudely interrupted by the virus of Monday.  I was upset by the virus of Monday, even though my computer does not seem to be infected (or rather my companies computer) and the e-mails did not transmit viruses as far as I know.  But the fact that some rotten people tried to sell my friends some “clevery choices” is so embarrassing.  I mean, other than the fact that “clevery” is my new favorite word (“I’m feeling so clevery today”) is the fact that they wasted my e-mail address and contact book on such crap.  They did wipe out my entire contact book, which I now need to rebuild.  Geez.  All in all, we had a very bad Monday here in Anne land.

But onto happy news!  My house is officially warmed thanks to lovely friends who came over on the weekend to celebrate.  I even got some prezzies, one of which I will share later in the week as it was especially artistic.  My brother was kind enough to help me choose and cook meat (never let the vegetarian choose the meat, or cook it, terrible things will happen).  I mixed up a big batch of Sangria for everyone:

And fired up the barbecue.  Believe it or not, everyone enjoyed the cooking on my little cheap charcoal grill, as it is unusual in this day and age of gas grills everywhere.  They said the flavor was wonderful!  I made my special red pepper shrimp kebobs, my brothers special recipe chicken (he looked through all my cupboards and came up with something or other) and bratwurst.  Because I’ve noticed that meat eaters like bratwurst, so that’s what I got!  Some salads to keep everyone feeling healthy, first up bean and corn, and then a pasta walnut:

I now have a mental note that I didn’t have to make the entire package of pasta, that half would have been plenty!  But I am enjoying it for lunch this week.  We also had mexican corn and a sweet potato medley that we broiled in the oven.  I carefully explained to my guests that I have been genetically programmed to overfeed my guests, and just when they think they are about to explode; offer them desert!  My co-worker brought a very delicious Russian cake, I made blueberry pie, and a pecan pie!  With ice cream!!

The cats spent the party in the basement, which tends not to make happy cats.  But don’t worry, they got a lot of attention on Sunday as I sat on the couch and watched movies recovering from all that cooking the day before.  I really like to cook, but don’t do it very often these days.  I must say however cooking is delightful in my new kitchen.  It seems I keep finding things to like about my neighbourhood and house, which is good.  Last night I made myself go out for a run, and discovered a wonderful path along a ravine that makes a loop that took me the perfect 40 minutes to run around.  One has to do a lot of running to make up for all the Russian cake I’m currently eating, its really good!

6 Responses to “Happy House Warming To ME!!”

  1. Jeanne said

    Sounds like a fun housewarming and the food looks delicious! Congrats on your new home!

  2. margene said

    Sounds like a fabulously warmed house! How nice to fill it with good food, good friends and good vibes!

  3. Sounds like you had a great party!

  4. Katherine said

    I hate pie. And I hate blueberries. So why does that picture of blueberry pie look so good?

    Sounds like a great party, glad you like your house.

  5. Cheryl S. said

    I think I just gained 5 pounds simply by looking at all of that delicious food!

  6. melanie said

    I wanted to stop by on Saturday but we had to go to another friend’s place in the afternoon and Miss Moira was D.O.N.E. after that. Between the teeth and a cold I’m surprised she lasted as long as she did.

    My stomach wishes I had come though – everything looks yum!

Leave a Reply

