Friday Snapshots and Musings

September 5, 2008

Now I’ve never been a huge Bon Jovi fan, but this song is beginning to be one of my all-time favorite songs.  And today I can’t seem to get it out of my head, they were even playing it at the department store.

The best attritube of this song is that it is a perfect skating song, which some of you know is how I’ve chosen some of my favorite music.  They played it once last fall when I was skating at the Oval, and I skated around and around, moving in time with the music, and just losing myself in the joy of it.  It was a time when other skaters were taking a break it seemed, as no one got in my way, not even that annoying lady who was always wearing ear phones and expecting us to go around her.  I floated, I pushed, I moved fast around the ice, I was full of joy and life, and extremely in the moment. 

I couldn’t believe it when Kurt Browning used the song for the closing number of “Stars on Ice” last year, but I totally understand why he did.  It was so beautiful, and watching all my favorite skaters moving so beautifully I cried.  At first I thought “How did he know to use this perfect song?”, but of course he knew it was perfect.  That day when I met him downtown (shameful boasting here) he asked me how long we’d been going to the shows, and I told him my Mum, my Aunt and I had been going to Stars on Ice since I was young.  We were part of his family, and he was part of ours, and our memories. 

So this weekend I plan on making a memory (I know cheesy but bear with me here), with my family, my friends, with myself.  Because sometimes life and death are very close, and co-exist.

Life and death side by side in Banff, a forest fire allows new life to grow.

One Response to “Friday Snapshots and Musings”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    That does sound like it would be a perfect skating song!

Leave a Reply

