Once Upon a Time…

September 6, 2008

A young married woman got on a boat with her husband and son and came to Canada.  She didn’t want to go, but in those days the wife went where the husband had decided.  She had lived through the London Blitz, running into the bombshelter in the backyard, and listening to the bombs fall on her neighbours house.  The rest of her life she couldn’t hear an air raid siren without terror.  England was always her home, Canada never was for her.  She kept her English accent her whole life, and drank her tea with just the right amount of milk.  When we came to visit she would serve us tinned ham, with the jelly still on it.  She was a master quilter, and I was lucky enough to be given one of her quilts which I will always treasure.  She had a spark in her eye, a quick wit (even when she was playing the daft old lady, I caught her one time looking sideways at me to see if I’d caught the joke), and a clean house.  An extremely clean house!  She died yesterday at the age of 94, and I hope it was peaceful.  My brother and I are booking our flights to Toronto, therefore things will be quiet around here for a week.  Grandma hated having her photo taken towards the end of her life, as she was self-conscious of how “old” she looked.  I think we all wish we looked that good at 92, her age at the time I took this photo that I treasure:

14 Responses to “Once Upon a Time…”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Oh Anne! I’m so sorry. I, too, hope it was a peaceful passing. A big hug to you and your family.

  2. She sounds lovely. That is a beautiful tribute, and a beautiful photo.

  3. margene said

    You have a lovely treasure of her in your memory. My heart is with you. May you find peace in her passing.

  4. Anne said

    I am SO very sorry. She sounds delightful and I hope that she went quietly and easily. My most heartfelt condolences. Hugs!!

  5. Bronwen said

    Oh Anne. So sorry for your loss. Sounds like she was a wonderful lady to have as a grandmother.

  6. Sunnyknitter said

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I believe that no one’s really gone as long as we keep them in our hearts, as you so obviously will. Sending you hugs and wishes for a safe trip.

  7. Jewel said

    I’m also so sorry to hear that your grandmother has passed away. My grandmother lived to be 98 and still when she passed it was very hard. But what was even harder was that my sweet mother went two year after her mother. I really had hope that my mother would live to be 98 also. I love that picture and understand how your grandmother felt about having her picture taken. Its really hard to see ourselves getting older. My heart is with you!

  8. Miriam said

    I’m so sorry Anne! My thought are with you and your family.

  9. Jana said

    You have a lovely way with words. I too wish to express my condolences; I know what it is to loose my grandmothers! Best wishes to you.

  10. Jana said

    You have a lovely way with words. I too wish to express my condolences; I know what it is to loose my grandmothers (one that taught me to knit; the other to sew; both to appreciate things made by hand! Best wishes to you.

  11. Katherine said

    Sorry to hear it, Anne. Enjoy the family gathering in Toronto and the memories, and love that picture, too.

  12. Mike said

    Anne: I lost my grandmother in January, and all I can tell you is to feel each emotion as it hits. Be well, and I’ll light a candle and say “Namaste” in her honor.

    Mike

  13. Mary said

    My heartfelt condolences Anne,
    You have a beautiful way with words that captures a loving tribute of your relationship with your Grandma.
    God Bless.
    Hugs to you.

    Mary

  14. Jocelyn said

    Oh, no. This is very sad. I’m sorry, hun, I can tell you loved her very much and you’re lucky to have had her to that ripe old age! Woo! Beautiful picture!

    Love,
    Joce.

Leave a Reply

