Wednesday WIP, and an Amazing new Discovery!

September 17, 2008

Believe it or not, I’m down to two projects, a resurrected sweater, and a new sock for to travel with.  I started this sweater last year after scoring a bunch of Silky Wool at 40% off, then put it down to concentrate on the Christmas blanket present, and recently brought it back out.  I had finished the back last year, and made some unpleasant discoveries:

1) Yarn selection for the pattern was really screwed up!  After much pondering I figured out what I did wrong.  The pattern called for 20 sts in 4 inches, and the ball band said 22, not that far off right?  However the pattern was on 5.5 mm needles, and the ball band was on 4 mm needles.  Whoops.  No wonder it is so screwed up.  However!  The side effect is that the pattern is knitting up a bit like lace, and after going up a size in the pattern to make the sweater wide enough, after blocking the thing lengthened by 2 inches as well.  Which may or may not work with this sweater.  So.  After much measuring, bellyaching, and looking at the ceiling (what I do when I’m thinking) I decided to keep going.  After all, I think its really pretty, and I love the lace effect:

I’ve almost finished the 5″ ribbed section on the front of the sweater, and would like to do a few repeats of the “honeycomb/lace” pattern by next week.  The hard part of this sweater will be making sure the sleeves aren’t too long on my short arms, which means knitting them really short, and expecting the 2 inches of growth.  I may also make it into more of a tunic and not sew the two pieces of ribbing together, as I’m worried about it being too tight across my behind.  I’ve got my fingers crossed that all will work out however!

I have discovered the most amazing new thing this week called “Going To Bed Early”.  Remember that, I bet your Mum told you about it.  For some reason since Sunday I’ve been “Going to Bed Early” instead of my usual 11 pm, its been way before 10 pm.  As I think back, I believe the last time I accomplished this feat was back in the spring.  Hmmmm, when the sun used to go down before 11 pm if I remember correctly.  I am therefore wondering if my new discovery is a result of our shortening days, and the approaching hibernation that is winter.  A side effect of “Going to Bed Early” is that you wake up before your alarm, not after you have already pushed the snooze 3 times and you don’t have time for “Breakfast” anymore.  You are bright and chipper at work, and unbearably perky.  I know, my co-workers are wishing the old grumpy morning Anne would come back as well!  Traa laa laa!!

4 Responses to “Wednesday WIP, and an Amazing new Discovery!”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Hmmm. I don’t know if Silky Wool will grow very much, though it’s hard to say with the lace pattern. Good luck!

  2. margene said

    I am a big fan of the ‘early to bed, early to rise’ school. I really does help you deal with life a little better. Silky wool does grow…what? You didn’t swatch and wash!!?

  3. Katherine said

    Hm, what pattern is that you are working on with the Silky Wool?

    My personal rule is: love Elsbeth Lavold yarns, never trust the gauge on the label. Never ever.

  4. Mike said

    I have experienced the same “Going to Bed Early” syndrome you have this week. Admittedly, I’m a morning person, anyway, and, as my students say, “Obnoxiously perky” as a matter of course. But the extra sleep has made me extra perky. Lucky them.

    MJS

Leave a Reply

