Never Say Never…

October 10, 2008

Do you remember last week when I was proudly declaring my knitters status, and my non-spinners affiliation?  About how someone needs to knit up what other people spin, so that they can spin more and not feel guilty about the huge quantity of already spun stuff cluttering up their house?  In my defense, I really didn’t have a choice.  My co-worker from Saskatchewan arrived yesterday for a meeting, presented me with a spindle and handful of corrindale, and taught me some spinning basics.  Then I tried, and made some lovely novelty yarn.  Honest, I made all the thin and fat parts on purpose!!  Were my other co-workers surprised to see us spinning away, all caught up in the motion.  They looked in the door and slowly. backed. away.  We then left work early so I could take L. on a tour of one of our local knitting hotspots conveniently located 20 minute walk away.  Now I’m not saying my few minutes of spinning is going to take.  But now that I have a beginners spindle, and a handful of fleece I might as well see what could happen, now shouldn’t I?  I do know one thing, I will be trying it again at home behind a closed door with two upset kitties on the other side dying to attack the spindle that is spinning oh so enticingly!! 

I am so ready to go home and collapse on the couch today.  Because!  It is a long weekend here in the True North as Monday is Thanksgiving!  At the proper time in my opinion, nice and spaced out between Labour Day and Christmas.  And next week I’m taking vacation!  yup, that’s where you don’t go to work.  And I’ve arrange to go somewhere with no internet, and I’m pretty sure my cell phone will be consumed in a black hole.  I can’t wait.  I intend to study, knit, perhaps ride my bike depending on whether there is snow yet in the mountains, watch Heroes, Battlestar Galactica, and generally relax.  Sigh, Drool. 

Stay tuned for a whole bunch of FO’s and items I’ve been generously gifted with when I return, and hopefully the photoshoots will be gorgeous.  With mountains and stuff in them!  No drool in those, I promise. 

Peace, Thanks, Serenity!

9 Responses to “Never Say Never…”

  1. dad said

    I have wandered the universe and observed what i have seen and realized how far i have to go.Mountains to cross and plains to see.Life can be such an adventure for those with the courage to experience its rewards. Bundles of love and hugs from a dad far away. Dad.

  2. Sunnyknitter said

    Hope you have a happy Thanksgiving and a lovely holiday. I’ll keep up the nonspinning resistance effort for you. (I want to try but am afraid I’ll get hooked.)

  3. Jeanne said

    Spinning is addictive once you start! Have a great vacation…

  4. Cheryl S. said

    I still have absolutely no spinning bug, but of course, you never know.

    Have a lovely long weekend, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Monica said

    I love that picture of you. You look like an angel! Happy Thanksgiving, and enjoy your vacation!

  6. Heather Joins The Round said

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Spinning is fun and helps you understand yarn better. I’m done with it for now, but the story would be different if I had been able to afford a wheel…

    Have a great vacation!

  7. Anne said

    A vacation sounds heavenly right now! Have an awesome time with yours!

  8. Katherine said

    I wish the USA had Thanksgiving at the same time as Canada.

    Uh, have fun with the spindle. I doubt you’ll turn back now. Much as I like to knit, the spinning is the more soothing of the two habits for me. Once you get over that initial hump…

    Tell us when you use up that handful of fleece. I’ve got some odds and ends I could send you.

  9. Jewel said

    Oh! You are in big trouble. Spinning is so much fun. I just started almost a year now and I already have two spinning wheels and several spindles.

Leave a Reply

