Heaven Is in Fernie British Columbia

October 20, 2008

But its only been open since May 2008.  I didn’t think there was a yarn store in Fernie, so imagine my surprise to come upon Heaven.   My personal definition of a cool town is normally more than 2 bike shops and a yarn store, then throw in some good coffee shops, sushi, and a good burrito ( hello Moab!!).

Fernie seems to have everything needed for a great destination place with a ski hill, what seems to be many cross country ski paths, mountain biking, and a nice vibe.  The jury is still out on restaurants, I think I need to try some more!  Unfortunately buying my dream shack in Fernie is a bit out of the budget at the moment, but I do think a winter visit is in order to try out another season.  And since I regret passing up that pretty ball of variegated hand dyed yarn that would have made the most adorable ski toque ever (due to stash guilt) I may just have to go back. 

And just to prove my Mum has a knack with the hook as well as needles, she also sent along the lovely Mermaid Scarf, modeled here by myself as I drove the train out of the mine, loaded with coal.  At the Visitor Center.  Choo choo!

I’m really enjoying this scarf, its pretty, goes with all my coats due to the cream colour, and is warm due to the Classic Wool.  Thanks again Mum!

Let’s just say the bump back from vacation has been rather abrupt, and rather unpleasant.  Can I go back?

One Response to “Heaven Is in Fernie British Columbia”

  1. The scarf looks good with your EPS!

Leave a Reply

