Not Obsessing but Pondering

October 30, 2008

What to start on January 1.  Do you remember Margene’s project to cast on something new on January 1, and last year we all made EPS sweaters?  I thought that was a lot of fun, and what I enjoyed most was making a few of my own motifs and designs.  I even bought myself coloured pencils again and coloured in squares on graph paper.  Therefore I’ve been thinking for awhile now what to do this next year, which is coming up quick, and I have a few ideas turning around in my head.  The best way I can describe the idea is “Haida Tattoos”.  I have no idea where I’m going with this, or what it is going to turn out like, but my inspiration is the thinner gauge Cowichan sweaters I’m seeing everywhere, the large amount of Haida artwork I see around, and the large number of people with various things tattooed onto themselves.  Of course the Haida motifs I like the most are the whales:

And the salmon:

This picture is hanging up in my kitchen above the pantry, hence the weird angle.  I’m thinking the sweater will be cream, black, grey, with colour but only green and red and like the pictures above.  The motifs are going to look and be placed more like tattoos on the arms, and back.  I’m hoping to avoid people saying “Gee, did you get that pattern from Mary Maxim” at the end of this.  I think the most appropriate yarn is still going to be the Custom Woolen Mill stuff as I can get the colours I need, and the rustic feel I want.  They also have single ply stuff a la original Cowichan sweaters.  I took a book out of the library awhile ago with traditional patterns in it (I believe the book is out of print, it was published in the early 80’s, got to love the library), which are also interesting to look at for inspiration. 

I think I need to start sketching this up soon!

5 Responses to “Not Obsessing but Pondering”

  1. margene said

    That will be won amazing project and its a sweater you’ll love forever!!

  2. Cheryl S. said

    Sounds very interesting! It will be fun to see what you come up with.

  3. Jewel said

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I love the picture!

  4. What a great idea! I look forward to seeing how it develops.

    We’ve got a carving of a Raven/Orca transformation figure. But the fishies are delicious, and they could swim in a circle around your upper arm…

    I’m really looking forward to finding out what you come up with.

  5. Carla said

    love the salmon – you could make an incredible repeating pattern out of those.

Leave a Reply

