Winter WIP

November 5, 2008

Its been snowing all night and all day here, only stopping recently.  However it was a light snow, and the accumulation was little, and in the inner city here most of it has melted already.  I was prepared this morning however with my tights, sweater, scarf, hat, mitts, and wool socks.  I was unprepared yesterday and was a bit chilly by the time I got home! I tend to over correct when I’m cold.

This Monday saw an unfortunate felting indicent.  I won’t go into details, as the pain is still raw, but lets just say my beautiful shopping bag turned into an ugly stunted purse that will probably end up as potholders.  I will not show you any photos so that its ugliness does not offend your sensitive eyes.  I’ve locked it up in the laundry room for now.  The lesson is that I should have checked the washing machine earlier instead of after I finished chatting on the phone, and yes I should have known better, and even more I should have felted it by hand.  To console myself I started a new scarf last night, the Buttonhole Scarf from Vogue Knitting Fall 2008 using some baby alpaca I’ve had for awhile and have been wanting to use:

buttonhold-scarf-in-progress

So far so good!  I quite enjoy that it looks like woven strips of material until you examine it more closely.

And in celebration of our first snow in the city I’ll give those non-Canadian tv viewers a link to my new favorite commercial that has me giggling every time I see it: The Midas Canadian Car Chase!  Yup, still worked I’m giggling again. 

And a quote from Anna Karenina, which I’m still reading and enjoying immensely.  I know its not going to end well, however the reading on the way to disaster may be worth it. 

“She turned away from him, pulled the hook at last out of the crochet-work, and rapidly, with the help of her forefinger, began working loop after loop of the wool that was dazzling white in the lamplight, while the slender wrist moved swiftly, nervously in the embroidered cuff.” 

What beautiful detail.

4 Responses to “Winter WIP”

  1. Dude, I know all about felting accidents–would you believe I felted my Clapotis, the one I knit three years ago? OUCH! I accidentally threw it in the washer with a heap of other stuff.

    I am thinking a handbag? I could give the “fabric” to my girlfriend who sews…ARGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!

    Cute commercial.

  2. Katherine said

    You should cut out little squares, and then blanket stitch two contrasting squares together for coasters. Seriously, I’ve seen it in a magazine (Piecework this past January, I think). Very cute!

    Snowed here a lot today. What a lovely wintry day for celebrating the election! Not much got me down today!

  3. margene said

    I might need to read that book again. Our accumulations was much! 6″ of heaven white stuff on my car and the trees are bowed with the weighted. But, the mountains look amazing covered in white and fine veil of clouds.

  4. Cheryl S. said

    Waaaah! Larry and I have both felted some socks accidentally. Bummer. But alpaca is nice and soothing.

    I couldn’t see the commercial – it says it’s no longer available.

Leave a Reply

