Make 1 Fall Retreat – Part Le Deux!

November 12, 2008

And there may be a third part entitled “Knitting Crushes” we’ll just have to see.  Let’s just say that among my fellow knitters, and not the teachers, I now have a few new crushes. 

On Saturday we attended two half day classes, which were again extremely hard to pick as they all looked so good.  I ended up deciding to attend two classes with new teachers, Stephanie Japel (Fit Your Knits), and Cookie A (Traveling Stitches).  If I had a clone she would have gone to Nancy’s Bush’s Estonian Lace class as they were making their own samplers, as that sounded like so much fun.  I think I would have needed at least four clones to attend all the classes I wanted to!  Every single person that attended each class raved about their class, and I’m not making that up.  No class was bad!

Fit Your Knits started with everyone measuring themselves and filling in a schematic, which was loads of fun.  If you think of measuring yourself and including all the rolls that come with age and too many cookies fun that is.  I did learn something that is very important to me: I should not pick my size to knit based on bust but on shoulder size.  I can then customize the bust and waist shaping to fit myself appropriately.  Way too many of my sweaters, blouses, and shirts pull at the shoulders as I seem to be wider there and *ahem* smaller through the bust area.  I also learned how to make short rows, which I have never known how to do before.  I already know where I’m going to use this technique!  Mrs. Japel brought in a few sweaters from her recent book, plus a new design that will be in Knitty Winter.  I so heart all the sneak previews we got this weekend!

glamknits

In the afternoon we learned that Cookie A. has a book coming out in April that will include 15 all new designsand instructions on how to design your own sock.  Pre-order anyone!  I think I’m drooling.  We also got to see all the famous socks, including the original Monkey, got the proper pronunciation of Pomatomus, and made some excellent traveling stitches.  It wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be for some reason!  It was interesting to discuss the mechanics behind each of the sock designs, and what each was based on.  Sock heaven:

cookie-socks1

5 Responses to “Make 1 Fall Retreat – Part Le Deux!”

  1. margene said

    When many of the worlds best knitters/designers come together good things happen!

  2. Cheryl S. said

    The retreat sounds so wonderful! I’m glad you got to go. I’m very envious, though.

  3. Katherine said

    That’s cool Ms. Japel has a sweater in the next Knitty. Sounds really fun. I’ve never taken any knitting classes at all before, but I am at least now at a point where I consider it. I haven’t taken the plunge, but I may.

  4. Anne said

    WOW! Looks like you had a great time AND learned a thing or 2 or 3. I don’t blame you a bit for wanting to go back again and again.

  5. Hmmm, the shoulder thing is interesting!

Leave a Reply

