Make 1 Fall Retreat – Yarn P*rn and Knitting Crushes

November 13, 2008

In the final of my series, may I present some ultimate yarn p*rn and knitting crushes.  The first image is an incredible Shetland lace shawl from the 1800’s.  I now have a huge knitting crush on whomever knit this shawl, most likely made for a wedding (its about 2 m x 2 m!):

shetland-lace-shawl

There is some damage unfortunately, but the detail and the huge variety of stitches is unbelievable.  It is a family heirloom passed down, and borrowed to show off for the retreat. 

And a huge pile of mouth dropping, drooling inducing wonderfulness was all the shawls, made by Nancy herself, from Estonian Lace:

estonian-lace-shawls

Just incredible.  I finally got my copy last night, declared one of the stitch samplers in the back to be my favorite, and ordered yarn for one of the scarves.  And I have decided when something really, really good happens to me next, I deserve a ball of Qivit to make a scarf from this book.  After feeling the original, only the best will do.  Trust me, you have never felt any fibre quite so sublime before in your life. 

And the top of the knitting crushes was Ms. B and her mother Ms. E who knit this fabulous shawl:
koigu-shawl

Rumour has it they live next to Koigu.  Ms. B carried this shawl off with great panache, and perhaps it will show up in Knitty one day?  I really enjoyed meeting new friends from near and far, and sharing their experiences this weekend.  My Ravelry “friends” list has grown, and I’m enjoying seeing all the mini lace shawls show up on Ravelry as well. 

A giant storm just rolled in over the last 1/2 hour, I wonder if it will bring snow?  This week started off with a cold on my part, which means I’m only operating at about 50% brain capacity, and this morning I’ve already used up at least another 25% doing unit conversions.  If I could wave my magic wand make everyone use metric I would!  We keep getting caught out between imperial gallons and US gallons.  Curses!  At home I’m indulging in a bit of a mitten frenzy, which is bring joy to my little heart and warmth to my hands.  Tomorrow is Friday after all, I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

