Self Soothing Friday

November 14, 2008

crowsnest-vacation-001

In the spring I had the opportunity to do some camping/cabin stay with a person who knew a few things about peoples minds.  He mentioned something very interesting, a persons ability to self-soothe.  When you feel bad, when things aren’t going well, can you make yourself feel better on your own?  I never realized how important this is for a persons well-being, and how bad it is if you cannot do it.  Perhaps it is evident to a lot of people, but I had never known the words for it, and have thought about it much since.  At work we’ve been struggling recently due to being a small start-up company that has been hit with a huge glut of work.  I’ve come to realize that every time taken off (say due to Holidays or Fridays spent at knitting camp) come with the penalty of nasty phone calls from people because we haven’t been getting stuff done on time.  But enough about that, the main point is how I’ve been making things better!!

1) Most important are cuddling with furry creatures, I recommend a cute black one and a tabby who love to be picked up and hugged.  (Seriously, one of those creatures, sometimes known as “The Queen” would have me carry her everywhere like the royalty she is).  This always makes a dark day seem brighter.

2) Happy music!  My current favorites in rotation are “Loreena McKennitt A Midwinter Night’s Dream“, and “Lighthouse Family Its a Beautiful Day”.  The first makes me feel like I’m cuddled up by a fire watching the snow fall outside, and its so quiet and peaceful.  The latter is like therapy in a song with a lead singer whose voice feels like a cuddly blanket soothing all your hurts.  Songs like “Happy, Life’s a Dream, You’re a Star”.  I feel better now, we’re all Stars!

3) I just discovered heaven in a glass, steamed eggnog and coffee from Second Cup, one of their Christmas special drinks.  I love eggnog even though it hurts my tummy and is sure to upset it.  I also love Christmas, and there is nothing like eggnog with nutmeg for Christmas (with perhaps a wee bit of something extra in there)!

4) Something to look forward to!  We are going to a private showing of the new James Bond movie tomorrow morning.  I really, really, hope its filmed somewhere warm and he has to take his shirt off a lot.  Or go swimming.  Or just stand there without his shirt on, I’m easy. 

5) Mittens.  Mittens are warm fuzzy tubes of love.  With pretty colours and patterns. 

Have a good weekend everyone!  May it be full of soothing activities!

6 Responses to “Self Soothing Friday”

  1. Jocelyn said

    Yay for comfort stuff! I hope you have a really, really nice relaxing and comforting weekend.
    xoxo J

  2. Carla said

    I watched the Transporter again last night. There is a lot of soothing shirtlessness in that movie.

  3. Anne said

    Do be sure to let us know how Bond was! I rarely go to films at the movie theater, but I’m thinking of going to that one next week with a friend – fill us in!

  4. Jeanne said

    Sounds like you have self-soothing down really well! Hope things get better at work..

  5. Jewel said

    If you call putting down a hard wood floor soothing than it was a good weekend!!!!

  6. Heather Joins The Round said

    That is a very good point, Anne.

Leave a Reply

