High Tea at the Banff Springs

November 27, 2008

When one is in Banff, one simply must sample the high tea at the Banff Springs Hotel.  To do otherwise would be simply uncivilized.  Now we, myself, my Mum, my Dad, and my brothers MIL (my BMIL?) did not run into the Queen, but I’m sure she pops round for a cuppa when she can.  She is awfully busy you know with running the huge Commonwealth.  The ingredients in the high tea are sublime, start with one part incredible view:

the-view the-view-2

Add a cup of tea with milk (honey and one lump or two of sugar if you so desire)

tea

A Victorian Scone with Devonshire cream and jam (My new favorite food of all time is Devonshire cream.  After I had declared this new truth my Dad mentioned that our family is originally from Devon in England, which perhaps explains a few things.)

victorian-scones

And the piece de resistance, the Tray of Delectables.  I made it through the bottom plate, the middle plate, and took a stab at the top plate but then ran out of steam.  I blame my missing major internal organ for my failure.  (gallbladder).  I can now proudly say that I have tried cucumber sandwiches with the crusts cut off.  I felt just like Jane Austen, but I wonder if Jane ever had such good smoked salmon treats?

tea-tray

The next time you are in Banff, you simply must look me up and we shall put on our hats, pinafores, crinolines, and have a cuppa at the Banff Springs.  I do think I need a Victorian Shawl to match my Victorian Scone.

4 Responses to “High Tea at the Banff Springs”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Oh, my! Looks wonderful.

  2. Charity said

    Mmmm, that looks so amazing! :0)

  3. Sunnyknitter said

    Next time I go to Banff I’m doing that for sure. I adore scones with cream and strawberries. It’s heaven on a plate! Sounds like you’re having a good visit with your mum and dad. Keep them full, you stay warmer that way!

  4. Laurie said

    Oh YUM. That is a sale, indeed.

Leave a Reply

