Did Your Christmas Party Have….

December 8, 2008

Appletini’s poured through an ice sculpture celebrating 110 years of business?

ice-sculpture

A Winter Wonderland theme room with real snow falling?  Your picture taken in fur coats and hats?  Oh well then, that must have been my party.  Hereafter known as the “Best Christmas Party Ever”.  Except for the hangover part on Sunday.  However I believe the chocolate ice cream made up for that.  Hereafter known as “The Best Chocolate Ice Cream Ever”.  I did get a bit misty for the fruit punch, jello salads, and matching Christmas sweaters of Utah, but that feeling went away very quickly. 

We woke up on Sunday to a veritable winter wonderland with over 8 inches of snow.  My Dad got to shovel snow for the first time in 9 years, wasn’t he excited!!  My street was so beautiful with all the Christmas lights, and later on I watched a giant white jackrabbit hop down the middle of the road.  Only the tips of his ears are brown now.  When I lived in Boston I always found the after snowfall times to be very strange, as there were no children outside playing.  There I would be by myself making snow angels, shoveling huge piles of snow to jump in.  I was very relieved that by the time I was functional (marginally) on Sunday the snowman population out numbered humans in Calgary, every non-level surface had been tobogganed on, and snow forts were under serious construction.  There was not a child without wet gloves and snow down the back of their snowsuits.  And that is the way it should be!

pretty-house-in-snow

I love my Christmas Lights!

6 Responses to “Did Your Christmas Party Have….”

  1. blogless in NJ said

    All I can say is WOW. It is really cold and windy here, and we had a smidge of snow Saturday night, but nothing like that. Beautiful!

  2. margene said

    We have snow too but not eight inches! Your party sounds wonderful. I won’t bore you with ours…just suffice it to say no appletinis.

  3. Monica said

    You dis the Utah culture so well. 🙂

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    Holy cats, an appletini fountain! So worth the hangover!

    Today was our first snow day in a long, long time. I guess we got about 6″ today, all told. The kid had a great time playing in it with the neighbors and drinking hot chocolate afterwards. The dog loved bounding through the snow as well. He gets big ice balls stuck on his furry legs. Happily he’ll wear the sweater I knit him. It’s not really cold here yet.

  5. Jewel said

    Your party sounds great, my work party on the other hand was not that great. This year they decided to go bowling and have pizza. It just didn’t seem like Christmas at all!
    We got some snow here in Utah yesterday but not much. But thats ok for I had to drive into work today.

  6. Laurie said

    Quite a beautiful setting for preholiday!

Leave a Reply

