Winter Wonderland WIP Wednesday

December 10, 2008

Hello All!  And a big yawn!  I think the hibernation is setting in at a rapid pace, especially now that we’re covered in snow.  I do believe I could sleep all day sometimes.  Of course having to get up each morning at 5:30 am always ruins those plans!  I did take yesterday off in order to recover from taking my parents to the airport for their 1 am flight (yikes!) and get some things done.  Like watch Season 3 of Battlestar Galactica.  And make soup! 

I’ve been working furiously on the Buttonhole Scarf, especially as I had received the yarn required to complete it a little while ago.  The original balls were sold in 50 g weights, but all I could find online was 200g in one ball!  I left off doing the buttonholes for the middle portion of the scarf, but I’m back to doing them again.  The scarf is getting long, but its going to be longer, probably over 60 inches by the time I make the same number of buttonholes as I did on the beginning portion.  It is long enough now however to wrap around my neck as I knit, which pleases me to no end as the baby alpaca is like butta!

buttonhole-scarf-65-done

My travel project, the Noro hopefully knee high socks now have heels ( my first short -row heels, sniff).  The heels could be better, but I think I’ll get better the more of these I make.  And I did finally put the ball band back in the bag, and am happy to report that it is color #S92.  Whew.  That only took a month or so!

noro-socks-just-above-heel

And for those parents who are hopefully now safely back in their tropical home, the weather forcast for this morning was for snow on the weekend, and a low of -25 oC.  Brrrr!!!!

3 Responses to “Winter Wonderland WIP Wednesday”

  1. Bea said

    Love the socks and the scarf! So cold there you actually need them!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    -25C! HOLY CATS! That is COLD!!!! I make that as -13F. That is the breath-stealing cold.

  3. blogless in NJ said

    I’m taking back all the evil thoughts I’ve been thinking about the weather in NJ.

    How do you like knitting with the Noro sock yarn. I’ve heard very mixed things. They do look great though.

Leave a Reply

