Pom-Pom Sweater – Step One Complete!

December 11, 2008

The yarn, she is mine!

pom-pom-sweater-yarn

I used my day off on Tuesday to much effect, running errands including this important one to my LYS.  This is Berroco Ultra Alpaca (full fat, not light or ultra light).  Now originally I had wanted to make this sweater:

skating-sweater

In a light grey and red,  but I had to give that up and I went with pretty much the colours from the magazine (Vogue Knitting, Holiday 2008).  I could not find light grey in Calgary, and would have had to order the yarn online.  Which is fine, but I felt like buying it here from my local store.  There are two yarn stores for sale in Calgary at the moment (that I know about) and if I don’t support them they are sure to disappear.  And when you think about how close this one is to my house, and the lovely wall o’sock yarn that I love, I don’t want The Knitting Room to shut down anytime soon.  So I will just have to remember not to eat spagetti around my lovely cream sweater! 

The plan is to be wearing this sometime over the Christmas Holidays skating, which seems doable as most of this is stocking stitch (vroom).  I am going to make a swatch this weekend (Good Anne!) wash it and then cast on for a sleeve.  As this sweater is knit in the round, and therefore I should do my swatch gauge in the round, this is my compromise and my first sleeve will be my semi-gauge swatch. 

Now for the pom-pom’s.  I see it as a sign of my approaching senility, along with my new and growing love of shiny things, that I am getting more and more pro-pom-poms.  I’m not committing to put this detail on right now, but I will tell you I bought a pom-pom maker at Michael’s.  Stay Tuned!

7 Responses to “Pom-Pom Sweater – Step One Complete!”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    FINALLY! It’s about time you got the yarn. I’m sure it will be lovely. And while the light grey would have been very nice too, it’ll be more festive this way.

  2. melanie said

    That is pretty much a perfect skating sweater isn’t it?

    I have coveted the big pom-pom poncho from Stitch n’ Bitch for years but could never afford the amount of yarn you need to make it (unless I want to make it in acrylic – which may be my only option someday when I get time to knit again).

  3. blogless in NJ said

    Wow – done by the holidays. I also frequently use the sleeves as my swatch – kills 2 birds with one needle, so to speak 🙂

    Alpaca is so delicious and having a nearby LYS is wonderful. I have one a few miles from where I work but I rarely get over there since by the time I leave, she’s closed. Also, it’s tiny and she hovers and makes you feel like she thinks you’re shoplifting. I really do hate that. Alternatively, when you really do have a question, or want to find out whether she is getting more of something – she behaves like you’re annoying her by asking. Do you get the feeling it’s not my favorite place to hang out?

  4. Jewel said

    I’m so glad you are going to start this sweater, I just love it. I can’t wait to see it on you while your ice skating.

  5. Heather Joins The Round said

    I love Ultra Alpaca. It’s so drapey! It will be interesting to see if/how much it grows when you wash it.

  6. margene said

    You will look so good in this sweater! You must do pompoms!!

  7. carocoknits said

    You didn’t mention the two yarn stores in Calgary, but have you ever tried Shuttleworks? It is about ten minutes out of Calgary at the south end of Deerfoot Trail. His store is a quonset and he carries every color of every yarn line – it really is amazing. (Check the hours, he is closed Mondays and opens at noon.) He also has a very good website that actually is up to date.

Leave a Reply

