Return of the Giant Purple Parka!

December 15, 2008

dec-15-009

Yup, its that time of year again, the deep freeze has returned.  I do find it amusing that here we call it “arctic air”, while south of the border its referred to as “Canadian air” bringing the cold.  That is myself, in all my going to  skating glory, on Sunday.  Parka, toque, scarf, mitts, snow boots, tights, you name it, I’ve tried to put it on at once.  One step out that door and your nose freezes up and your lungs start to spasm.  I did try and get out on Saturday however, especially since I had shovel out the front drive from around 1.5 feet of snow.  2 feet closer to where my lovely neighbour had used their snow blower to put some of their snow on my drive.  I must bake them one of those horrid Christmas cakes with the candied fruit for the holidays.  Tee hee.  I also decided (I think my brain had now frozen pretty well) that I should walk up to the shopping plaza, so off I went, unfortunately with just tights and jeans on (along with parka, toque, mitts, scarf, snow boots).  My thighs were almost frozen through by the time I got there, and when I got home they were bright screaming red.  Ouch.  The rest of the weekend was spent as close to the fireplace or my electric blanket as I could get. 

In good news, my new scarf is finished and passed its first -25 oC test (-40 oC with the windchill).  Photos tomorrow!

8 Responses to “Return of the Giant Purple Parka!”

  1. Heather Joins The Round said

    Plus, you’re already half in shock from being too overwarm from putting all that stuff on inside! BRRRRRRRRR.

    That guy so deserves a fruitcake!

  2. Jocelyn said

    Neighbor deserves a fruitcake. Will you please bake a second one for my neighbor who left the front door to the building open two evenings this weekend? No water for me this morning. grrr.

    tags cracked me up!

  3. Cheryl S. said

    Oh, brrrr!
    I don’t think I could take it.

  4. Mom said

    Thank goodness we left when we did. We are also experiencing cooler temps- in the low 70’s.

  5. blogless in NJ said

    Now Mom – that wasn’t a sporting comment, was it. Be careful or you’ll get one of those fruitcakes. 🙂 By the way, if you get into miserable fruitcake baking mode, I have some neighbors who could definitely use one … they cut down 175 feet of beautiful tall yews that were on MY property. Oops they said.

  6. Sunnyknitter said

    I’d offer to have you come warm up here, but now is not the time. It’s raining and cold enough to be breathy outside! (Sadly, we get so little of this that we are thrilled with the change of pace.) So. Cal is definitely chilly for a change! Like the purple jacket though, as a kid I had a purple parka that I loved. Just makes me feel warmer looking at it.

  7. Katherine said

    Hee hee. I thought that was your hair.

    And I’ve always blamed winter squarely on Minnesota. Canada’s off the hook in my bizarro, non-scientific world.

  8. Jewel said

    You look so cute and warm! We finally got snow at my house last night and its still coming down.

Leave a Reply

