The Buttonhole Scarf Passed the Test

December 16, 2008

The test being “Can you keep my neck, chin, nose and face warm and frostbite free while I wait for this bus for over an hour in -25 oC weather”. 

buttonhole-scarf-done

Okay, that’s not me waiting for the bus, that is me smiling at Mr. J on the 4th floor of Banker’s Hall, where I’m sure you will see more photoshoots as it is a great place for it. 

The buses have been having trouble obviously with the cold, not starting, and not showing up for their routes.  I was fairly warm last night, but my toes had started to freeze long before the bus finally came.  A little kid was waiting with his mother and started to cry, which is how you get your face frozen off kid!  Tears just make it worse as they freeze on your face, he so failed winter survival 101.  I felt like crying at times, but I knew better.  The scarf is soft and warm, and stays up over my nose and face with ease due to the almost pleated effect of the weaving pattern.  At the bottom of the scarf the ends flare nicely out, I made sure I did the Estonian lace cast-off taught by Nancy Bush to ensure that end also flared out. 

The pattern is the Buttonhole Scarf from Vogue Knitting Fall 2008, made with baby alpaca from Alpaca with a Twist.  I used 3 small 50g balls, and about half of the big 200 g balls.  The middle 1/3 of the scarf does not have buttonholes, for extra warmth.  I’m not going to block it in order to keep the puffiness to the almost woven pattern.  The scarf is very long, and took like forever to finish.  But now I’m very happy it is!  It is perfect!  There is one row wrong however, as one must show humility.

4 Responses to “The Buttonhole Scarf Passed the Test”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    That’s a perfect place for a photo shoot, and the scarf is great! I’m glad it was able to keep you nice and warm.

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    It looks fabulous!

    Can we have a close-up of the ends?

    I need to learn that cast-off.

  3. blogless in NJ said

    The scarf looks wonderful.

  4. Jen said

    That’s a GREAT PHOTO! Might have to do a little FO modeling myself there this Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

