New Year’s Luck

January 2, 2009

For awhile now, probably since I had the misfortune to think I had a relationship with the two timer from Alabama, I’ve made black eyed peas for New Years Day brunch as they bring good luck.  The tradition goes that the peas look like coins with their black eyes, and will bring much fortune in the coming year.  I usually make Hoppin’ John, which is beans, rice, onions, tomatos, spices, and this year, ham.  Its traditionally made with ham hocks, but other than knowing those are probably the foot part, and that my mother traumatized me when young by having pickled pigs feet in the fridge constantly, that’s all I know.  So ham it was.  I usually add in some other southern side dishes, corn bread, and this year I tried a sweet potato casserole.  The former was wonderful and the latter was sweet enough to melt my teeth, and tasted twice as good.  I just need to remember to only take a little bit, it has a lot of butter, cream, and brown sugar in it.

new-years-day-brunch

I realize the photo of the Hoppin’ John in the front doesn’t look that appetizing, but trust me, its good and it fills your guts up and keeps you warm.  And I feel a lot of luck coming my way in the New Year!  (About the ham, Mr. J. is quite the carnivore, and I didn’t want to completely ruin the dish for him, as he still likes the flavor the ham lends it.  I’ll break him in slowly to appreciating the other flavors).  Just had to add that ’cause I know Mum will ask!

Yesterday was spent mostly cooking and eating, and relaxing.  Today had many plans in it until I got up and saw the news channel proclaiming the temperature to be -25 oC again, which cancelled all outdoor pursuits.  I have been organizing, cleaning, knitting, writing Christmas cards, and patting cats all day.  Other than in front of the fireplace the house is chilly, so I’m heading back down there soon.  Brrrrr!  Bring on the fireside martini (taken from an old Holiday Issue of the LCBO magazine (Liquor Control Board of Ontario, where you have to buy your liquor in Ontario.  Where do you buy your beer, well, duh, The Beer Store of course))

3/4 oz vodka

3/4 oz Bailey’s

1/2 oz Creme de Cacao

Double amounts when its gets below -15 oC.

Have a good weekend!

3 Responses to “New Year’s Luck”

  1. Sunnyknitter said

    Happy New Year! It all sounds delicious. We used to call the ALCB (Alberta Liquor Control Board) Uncle Al’s and Al had both liquor and beer. One stop shopping, during prescribed hours, of course.
    By the way, you and Mr. J. make a very cute couple!

  2. Heather Joins The Round said

    It sounds like the liquor control board wants you to buy more liquor! How enlightened of them!

    Happy New Year!

  3. Auntie K said

    The LCBO is also fondly called the “In and Out”, which I discovered recently is the name of a U.S. hamburger chain (In-N-Out, more precisely). Many of the larger liquor stores in Ontario have two doors, one marked “In” and one marked “Out”, presumably for crowd control.

    Another recently learned fact about In-N-Out Burger: Their feature hamburger is called a “Double-Double”. Well, American friends, if you come here and order a double-double, you’ll get a very creamy and sweet coffee. Just so you know.
    😉

Leave a Reply

