Going Back to Work with a Yarn Diet

January 4, 2009

Tomorrow we go back to work with all the tasks we meant to do with our time off done or undone.  Hopefully we go back recharged and ready to face another year of deadlines, trips to northern Saskatchewan, the States, hopefully Europe, and wherever else fate takes us.  I learned a long time ago not to count on much until you are on the plane, or on your way, as life loves to throw curve balls.  This is why I never buy a guidebook until the last minute.  This year I go back refocussed on working really, really, hard, as I need to.  Our company is new, we will be two years old in the spring, and we need to break even or hopefully make money.  Its really important, as I would like to keep working for this company, and not be thrown out to look for a new job.  I kind of like my job, office, and co-workers. 

I also conceived of a new goal today, and though it may be a silly goal, and perhaps unachievable, I think I will still hug it and call it mine.  I want to do a triple jump.  Right now I’m in the midst of reworking my jumping style, and its going slowly and a bit painfully.  (Kicked my leg today doing a jump, no blood, but a huge bruise is coming up.)  But I think I’m learning the “right” way to do them, and if that is the case, with the right technique finally I should be able to squeeze in tighter, jump higher and make a double jump a triple jump.  It may not be this year,  it may not be next year, it may not even be by my fortieth birthday.  But I was talking to other women in the club talking about 55 year olds doing triples, and it doesn’t seem that unreachable after all.  Why should I assume that only 18 year olds, or twenty year olds can do this?  Why can’t I?  I think I just may be able to. 

Boxing Day in Canada is celebrated with sales, big sales.  In the “olden” days Boxing Day involved the whole store being 50% off, along with the gate-crasher specials.  In Calgary there were 4 knitting stores having sales, two on Boxing Day, two the day after.  On the 26th we hit the two, but the best one for me was on the 27th at Pudding Yarn.  I was looking for mostly sweater quantities of yarn, and boy did they have it.  Each store was almost all 20-30% off everything.  I’m sure they put some stuff away, but there was still more than enough to please (some a bit much). 

da-haul

But all that gluttony comes with a price, the yarn diet.  At first I dreamed up an easy one, but then had to reconsider when I remembered the gluttony.  Then I made a chart (cause I love charts):

yarn-diet-chart

That’s right, the diet ends when there are red check marks on each line, four of each, sweaters, scarves/shawls, socks, and small projects.  I also made up a list of pretty much every yarn project in the stash, no cheating this time.  Its long.  It is also in my day timer, so when you see me in a meeting, studiously examining my day timer, this is what I’m probably looking at.  Shush, don’t tell!

On your mark, get set, go!

6 Responses to “Going Back to Work with a Yarn Diet”

  1. Jocelyn said

    Charts! *snort*

    Don’t forget there is a certain skein of blue faced loveliness coming your way in the new year!

  2. margene said

    That’s an ingenious yarn diet! It will be fun to check off each mark and see your progress. Good luck with your goals…they are all worthy.

  3. Anne said

    Brilliant plan! I bet it will work wonderfully well for you. (As well as your triple concept!)

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    I dig the chart and might have to steal that idea for myself.

    Go for the triple, you!

  5. Cheryl S. said

    I am definitely on a yarn diet too. My stash has become a hoard.

  6. Jen said

    I liked the Pudding sale best of all too!

    I want to be on a yarn diet, I should be on a yarn diet, and yet right now I’m oddly compelled to buy yarn to make as many mittens as my grubby paws can manage!

Leave a Reply

