Make it Stop WIP Wednesday

January 14, 2009

First off, a bit of an update as I haven’t had one lately.  The large project I’ve got on the needles of course is the Pom-Pom sweater, which is an incredibly boring two sleeves and the beginning of the body in cream wool, stocking stitch and rib:

pom-pom-sweater-in-progress

On the body I cast on for the medium size, and then about 2 inches above the ribbing I’ve decreased down to the small size to give a bit of shaping and accomodate my particular body shape.  In about ten inches of stocking stitch (perhaps done this weekend watching the Canadian Figure Skating Championships?) things will get more interesting with the yoke knitting.  The sleeves took awhile as they were uber boring as well, but they are done now!  The lace scarf cast-on was also an attempt to provide a bit of variety in the knitting, for when I got really bored of the stocking stitch. 

I’ve started a new travel project, which are knee high socks of course.  These are the Evening Stockings for a young lady from Nancy Bush Vintage Knitting in Patons Kroy:

evening-stockings-in-progress-jan-13

I’m tooting along on these, doing calf decreases and loving how the cuff and lace details are turning out.  They are going to be nice and warm once done, and I can’t wait.  I think I’m making good progress on them, as they’ve grown about 4 inches since last week.  The photo is a bit fuzzy, but that is how I’m feeling today.  That feeling of I know I have so much work, and need to work harder and harder to get it done.  But doing the work is like alternately shoving pins in my fingers, or knitting on white sleeves that are boring but have to get done.  Just like this:

aeb-mood-jan-14

Blah! I say!  Can I go out and play in the lovely fluffy snow now?  Thanks!

7 Responses to “Make it Stop WIP Wednesday”

  1. margene said

    I’m feeling about the same way today. I’d rather be knitting, however than playing in the snow.

  2. trek said

    It may feel boring but the sweater looks really nice.

  3. Jen said

    I’ve spent the whole day feeling sorry for myself because I can’t cozy up in a blanket, stay home and knit.

    IT IS PERFECT stay home and knit weather. Kids get snow days why can’t adults get KNIT days?

  4. Anne said

    That is some mental fortitude – to knit ALL that stockinette in white. GO YOU!

  5. Jewel said

    I think you will enjoy it more once you get closer to the top of the sweater. But its looking really nice. Our snow is melting away with the warmer temps.

  6. You look like you’re posed for a 19th century portrait! Love that facial expression. “Beauty Pondering Infinity?

    Hope work’s going well. The knitting looks like it’s going great. Smart of you to do the shaping, I look forward to seeing how it turns out.

  7. Cheryl S. said

    It’s great to have the boring bits done first – now you have all the good stuff to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

