The Wind Went Whump!

January 22, 2009

I live on the west side of Calgary, almost in the first set of houses.  The wind coming over the mountains has about 60 km of land unbroken by trees, or houses in which to pick up speed.  My neighbourhood is also up on a hill, and all this means that when the weather changes, and the wind ushers in a completely new climate overnight, we are all intimately aware.  Around 2 am last night the wind started Whumping the house.  I wake up, the cats wake up, and I lie there wondering if a window fell out of the house, or if part of the roof is gone.  The wind slams so hard the windows flex in and out, the walls move in the sonic boom.  I begin to plan: if the window falls out, I’ll get that plastic and tape it over the opening, keeping the cats upstairs to avoid the broken glass.  If a wall falls over, I’ll lay down beside the bed like you are supposed to do in an earthquake.  Will the insurance cover my windowless, wallless house?  What should I wear to work tomorrow!  Whump!

Nor I or my cats got much sleep after 2 am.  Whump!  The temperature is back down to -17 oC, and big parka came with me to work this morning. 

In other news, I am excited to announce that the sleeves have been joined to the  body of the sweater, and the colourwork in the yoke started.  Actual colour!  Woohoo!

yoke-just-started

5 Responses to “The Wind Went Whump!”

  1. Katherine said

    Huh. I went camping this past summer out in the middle of serious BFR (Fish Spring National Wildlife Refuge, if you must know) and the wind blew the tent so hard I cried (secretly so as not to scare the little boy). I got up to re-stake the thing a couple of times (which is needed). Scary. I wouldn’t like to feel that way inside a house. Growing up in tornado alley, my parents house was regularly whumped by wind. You get used to it and stop worrying about big chunks getting blown off.

    You’ll get used to it too, I think. Well, in the house (I don’t think it’s wise to “get used to” having one’s tent blown away).

  2. Sunnyknitter said

    We live in an older house that needs new windows desperately and I know what you mean waking up and wondering what’s going on. I also tend to think we’re having earthquakes when it’s only a big truck going by because everything shakes.

    I’m loving that sweater! You are going to ultimately get an action shot of a spin with pom-poms flying, aren’t you? Can’t wait to see it.

  3. Jewel said

    I wind blows hard where we live so I know about not getting enough sleep on nights like that.
    Loving the sweater its looking great. Looks like you will be done soon!!

  4. Sounds scary! But your sturdy house stood up to it…

  5. Cheryl S. said

    Loud wind makes me very nervous! I’ve been known to go hide in the guest bedroom during windstorms, because it’s surrounded by foot-thick brick walls, which really muffle the sound.

    Yay – you’re at the fun part of the sweater!

Leave a Reply

