Pom-Pom Skating Sweater Done and Broken In!

February 4, 2009

What can I say, I love photoshoots.  Having friends that enjoy photoshoots are a blast as well, as is finding good locations for them.  Of course this sweater had to be photographed in its natural habitat, the skating rink, specifically downtown Calgary Olympic Plaza:

full-body-sweater1

As per normal by the end of the night I was in about a dozen holiday snaps, had given a skating lesson, and was also in a scavenger hunt (clue was “have your picture taken with a skater”.  I could hear the kids whispering “she’s a skater, let’s ask her). 

But the sweater, my beautiful new sweater!  The only modifications made were to make the bottom of the sweater in medium to fit over my curvy hips, then I brought the size back down to XS for the waist etc.  I also added two inches to the length of the sweater which I didn’t really need to do, as it now hits me at my larger circumference.  However I am working on the assumption that it makes me look “curvier” rather than having a bit butt.  Work with me here!  And it keeps me bum warm.  For those of us with wider shoulders the lace panel on the top of the sweater is genius, as it stretches out to give tons of room, without any gaping elsewhere.  And the pom-poms!  I now love them (as do the cats, they were instantly mesmerized, I need to be super careful and not wear this around them) even though at first I did not think I would include them.  I have them attached to the cord (not i-cord but crochet, once again I declined to learn i-cord due to excessive laziness) with safety pins so that I can take them off if desired. 

Here are the action shots:

  skating-sweater-photoshoot-006skating-sweater-photoshoot-007skating-sweater-photoshoot-0031skating-sweater-photoshoot-005   

From Vogue Knitting Holiday 2008, Sweater #23, using yarn called out, Berroco Ultra Alpaca.

9 Responses to “Pom-Pom Skating Sweater Done and Broken In!”

  1. margene said

    Don’t you look fabulous! The sweaters is cute, too. Nicely done.

  2. Cheryl S. said

    Your sweater looks wonderful! Love the action shots.

  3. Sunnyknitter said

    I love it on you even more than I thought I would! Nice job indeed.

  4. Carla said

    Hey – it looks awesome – what a great skating sweater!

  5. Katherine said

    That really, really looks fabulous. Hopefully the other skaters think the pom poms were big enough. I think they look very cool.

  6. Anne said

    It came out great! And even I, south of the border, appreciate the pom pom stylishness. 🙂

  7. Oh, Anne, it’s awesome, it looks 10X better than the one in the pattern pictures. Good mods!

  8. Jewel said

    I love, love it! What a cute sweater, I want the pattern and the pom pom’s are so cute.

  9. Sonia K. said

    I am really impressed – what a beautiful finishing job on your sweater. Looks really good

Leave a Reply

