Turn Right by the Chair

February 18, 2009

I wish I was joking, but that is how you get to the water plant:

turn-right-by-the-chair

Rumour has it that is also how you know its a bingo night.  I didn’t stop to find out but headed back down south after my meeting.  And the owl I thought I almost hit the other night?  It was back again in the same spot on the highway, either it is eating the stones, roadkill, or wants to hitch to Florida.  Its over 2 feet tall, and scares the crap out of me very time. 

As Gravelbourg is a French town, I discovered they also have a lovely french bookstore, mostly filled with books for children.  As my incredibly smart 6 year old niece is already reading French, I picked her up a cute book entitled “Plaisirs D’Hiver (Pleasures of Winter) by Roger Pare.  However now I’m thinking about saving this picture for myself and hanging it on a wall:

plaisirs-dhiver

 

The caption reads: Bonhomme-Carotte a de belles mitaines, Noisette lui tricote un foulard de laine.  Translation: Carrot Snowman has has some pretty mittens, Hazelnut knits him a wool scarf. 

Another favorite picture has an elephant wearing 4 socks with pom-pom’s at the top.  That is an elephant after my heart!

7 Responses to “Turn Right by the Chair”

  1. margene said

    Love the local chair lore. The book is darling! Kids have the best books!

  2. Anne said

    What a lovely and charming picture! I’d have a hard time giving it away myself.

  3. Jewel said

    I don’t think I would like that drive.

    Go to my blog I have given you an award!

  4. Jen said

    I love that picture, there’s somethng so “chicken soup” to it- it just makes me feel warm and fuzzy! 🙂

  5. So that’s the signage? Priceless.

    Love those knitting animals.

  6. Cheryl S. said

    I sense socks with pom-poms in your future.

  7. nicolaknits said

    That is such a cute book. Worth buying just for the knitting!

Leave a Reply

