Look Mum! I Got A Spirit Award!

February 23, 2009

I got Spirit, oh yes I do, I got Spirit, how about you?

annes-spirit-award

At the Ice Skating Gala last Saturday I was given the Spirit Award!  The program says its for “the skater who gets involved by volunteering, skating in the Gala, and showing team spirit”.  I was pretty darn shocked, that is for sure!  In honour of the Oscars last night, I now present my acceptance speech:

“I would like to thank my parents for driving me to the rink three or four times a week when I was growing up, and buying me skates and lessons.  I would also like to thank Mr. J for giving me an emergency ride to the arena when my car wouldn’t start on Saturday, you saved the day!”

Unfortunately there weren’t many audience members for the Gala, which was a bit disappointing at first.  Then I realized that there weren’t many people there, and it was really just like we were skating for fun and each other, not an audience.  I participated (badly) in the opening number, and the Skills Demonstration, doing some simple jumps and spins.  The big part of the day was when it was time to demonstrate the axle, which I was pretty sure I couldn’t do without a lot of practice first, and would most likely mess it up, so I had decided not to do it.  However when Pamela pointed at me and said “axle” I threw caution to the wind, and went out and threw it.  It was one of the best of the year!  It was clean, landed well, and even almost on my toe, not the flat of my foot.  What a great way to celebrate what is almost the end of the skating year. 

Also, I leave you with an excerpt from the program, another example of me thinking I”m hilarious, and most other people not really getting it, but me sitting there giggling away. 

Years of Skating:32

Skating Highlights: Learning axle at age 10, learning axle at age 35

What Motivates me to Skate Today: The joy of skating, and the tiny skirts I get to wear!

10 Responses to “Look Mum! I Got A Spirit Award!”

  1. Mom said

    Yeah!!!
    I never regretted the time spent at the arena because it kept you off the streets when you were a teenager.
    I didn’t expect that when we visited in Nov. I’d still be doing it but I’m glad.
    Go Girl!!

  2. Jewel said

    Congrats girl! That’s to bad that there wasn’t more people there.

    I love your mom! That’s why my kids were all band geeks!

  3. Anne said

    Congrats on your award! Glad you had fun too!!

  4. Stitch-n-Snitch said

    Congratulations!!!! 🙂

  5. Cheryl S. said

    Yay! Congratulations!

  6. Congratulations!

    I know it’s a skate blade, but it also looks a little bit like a bat’leth. Skate on!

  7. Billy said

    Congratulations!

    And thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  8. Laurie said

    Wonderful! (And congratulations!) Pamela really gets it.

  9. Bea said

    Congrats. That actually looks dangerous.

  10. Jocelyn said

    I’m so sorry I missed this – how exciting! Congratulations my friend!!

    I liked your story about the axel, isn’t it funny how the mind works? Go Anne.

Leave a Reply

