Spring Always Begins With a Birthday

March 3, 2009

The spring is always here in  March for me, no matter how cold it is, or how much snow falls.  The month always starts off with my birthday on the second, and what a great way to start.  Unfortunately the special day landed on a Monday this year, and was a day that I had to pack up and head back to Saskatchewan.  Therefore I pretended that Sunday was my birthday, and filled the day with indulgent pursuits.  A trip to the farmers market, a bike shop, a dinner with family and friends, and a whole day with Mr. J.  A new pair of bikes shoes for the upcoming vacation, and an angelfood cake (confetti of course) with cream cheese icing, always a favorite. 

My dear nieces gave me some lovely cards, the first one from the six year old reads “Wow!  Other people your age really look like crap…….That was a much bigger compliment in my head!”.  She drew a lovely picture of a blue bird, me (with my glasses on) holding a rose, and both my cats with squiggly tails.  also a very good diagram of a Caterpillar, a cocoon, and a butterfly with arrows to show their progression from one to the other.  The second card from the younger reads “You’re holding up well”.  The three year old also drew lovely caterpillars (I’m sensing a theme) and flowers.  Apparently my dear brother picked the cards out.

There are no photos of my on my birthday, as I decided that since it was my birthday personal hygiene is overrated, and I was just sitting in the car for 7 hours anyways, and visiting piping stores.  Today we’ll see if I can get a photo of my new power saw, and whether I can keep all my fingers attached to my hands whilst using it.  There is a plastic tank in Saskatchewan that should be very, very afraid….

9 Responses to “Spring Always Begins With a Birthday”

  1. Billy said

    Happy (belated) birthday! And happy almost-spring!

  2. Happy Birthday! Enjoy the power tools!

  3. Cheryl S. said

    Happy birthday! I love the cards.
    Please, no visits to the emergency room.

  4. Anne said

    Happy birthday! Kids (and brothers, apparently) say the darndest things, eh?

  5. Katherine said

    Happy birthday! You share a birthday with my son — he turned five yesterday. Do you need a Hot Wheels set too? Or does the saw do it for you? (I think the saw is cooler, but I won’t tell Holden).

    Sorry you had to drive all day. I hope you at least saw something else cool on the way (any more cars on haystacks?)

  6. Mike said

    Happy Birthday!

  7. Jeneane said

    A very Happy Birthday – have a fun road trip.

  8. margene said

    Happy Birthday! You know how to celebrate! You’ll be a pro with that saw!

  9. Auntie K said

    Ah, a girl and her power tools!

    Hope you had a great birthday, Niece-‘O-Mine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

