Does the World’s Largest Skylight Make U Want 2 Shop?

March 11, 2009

We have a very good view of the new skylight they are building over the downtown mall here in Calgary:

new-skylight

You can see the old, obviously too small skylight that will eventually be removed when the new one is ready to go.  I’m afraid I don’t understand the marketing behind this construction, and why someone signed off on tearing up a perfectly good mall to put this in.  I just don’t know how its going to inspire more people to go into downtown Calgary to shop.  Now I’ve seen the “World’s Largest Fountain (Singapore)”, the “World’s Largest Mall (again Singapore)”, and even the “World’s Largest Indoor Manmade Waterfall (Hong Kong)”.  Am I just jaded with all these other wonders I have seen?  Am I too cynical to shop under the “World’s Largest Skylight”.  Was I naive as I also shopped under the old, obviously now too small skylight?  What do you think?  I do think its kind of cool however, especially how they are constructing it.

I am finally starting to come out of my extended grumpiness that began last weekend.  Believe it or not the grumpiness was brought on by the fact that we’re leaving for Moab Utah tomorrow after work.  Stressed by work I haven’t done, projects undone, the fact that everything always explodes while you are gone, and how horrible things seem when you get back to work due to the aforementioned explosion.  Now that I’m almost packed, have done some damage control on projects, I’m starting to get excited about going.  We’ve been trying to train for the bike rides, and my bike and I are so, so excited to get out of my living room for awhile.  I know its going to be some painful rides, long, and made worse by my out of shapness, but its going to hurt good.  I know there are other people out there who love that achy body feeling brought on by a really good work out.  Right?  Piper has recently emerged as my personal coach extraordinare:

piper-in-training

“Get ur bootee back on this bike young lady!”  Yes ma’am!  I’m planning to make it to Blazing Needles on Thursday March 19, and hopefully breakfast at Silver Lake Lodge on Saturday March 21 before we leave for home.  (Mental note to bring chains for the car.)  I hope I get to see some of my friends in Salt Lake!  I have also decided to break the yarn diet, but only for local stuff I can’t get anywhere else!!  Desert Threads in Moab, Sleeping Dragon in SLC, I’m coming for you!  Yeehaw!  One more day to go!

5 Responses to “Does the World’s Largest Skylight Make U Want 2 Shop?”

  1. Have a safe trip, many fun rides, and I’ll try to make it to Blazing Needles next Thursday. Bon Voyage!

  2. Jewel said

    Wow thats big!
    Good for Piper, I need a Piper in my life.

  3. Sunnyknitter said

    Travel safely and have fun!

  4. Katherine said

    Cool, I’ll try to make it to Blazing Needles. Failing that, I haven’t been to Silver Fork Lodge for a good while. And at least they don’t have anything expensive there I shouldn’t spill on.

    Ahem. You might find a lot more “local” stuff in the LYS’s round these parts than you remember. I just found some really, really pretty braids of merino roving at Three Wishes today from Genola, UT.

    Have mucho fun and be mucho safe.

  5. Anne said

    Have an awesome trip – and don’t, for a minute, think about work!!

Leave a Reply

