Hidden Treasures in Saskatchewan

April 6, 2009

Another trip out to Gravelbourg last week, with the added bonus of keeping up on office work to liven up my time.  I did feel very proud that I had some extremely clever ideas, like putting a sump pump in a bucket (probably doesn’t sound very clever, but trust me it was, AND it worked).  As I drove east I was surrounded by pockets of extremely dark clouds and snowbursts, but went between most of them.  The benefit of being able to see so far in all directions is that you can see where the bad weather is.  I did take a few photos, but none seem to be turning out very well, I hope my camera is not having trouble.  I did take the time to stop at a hidden treasure, the Herbert Motel and Alpaca gift shop.  It may seem like a strange combination, but the Dutch couple that run the motel also have an alpaca farm nearby.  The owner sends the fleece out to get spun, to have socks made, spins some herself, and displays her award winning creations in the lobby.

april-2-005

Who can resist a little door such as that?   I left with 200 g of natural brown alpaca, which is already crying out to become warm toques with knit and purl patterns.

april-6-002

It was a bit sad in Gravelbourg however, as they were having three funerals for three girls killed in an unfortunate traffic accident.  The girls were age 14-16, and the driver of the other car was 17.  There was no alcohol involved in the crash, just an unfortunate choice, and a tragedy.  To lose so many, so early in a small town is devastating, the church looked like it was going to be full.  I grew up in a small rural Ontario town, living outside it on a dirt road.  To get anywhere you had to drive, we all started to drive at 16, however I took the bus my whole illustrious high school career.  Every single year of high school kids were killed that I knew.  Every year.  I’ve always felt very detached from those deaths, they seemed so far away, which I believe is a symptom of how much I hated where I went to school.  But now, being older, I feel for those families who lost girls much too young, who were just starting out, who hadn’t nearly tasted anything of life.

6 Responses to “Hidden Treasures in Saskatchewan”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    That’s very sad, especially in a small community where everyone knows everybody else.

  2. Teri said

    I’m from a small town too, and the same thing – every year there was at least one fatal car crash. Every graduating class was missing someone.

  3. margene said

    It’s so sad to hear of young lives being cut short no matter where/when it happens, but in a town like that it impacts in big ways.

  4. sayingthings said

    That’s too bad. I can relate to your story of being sort of detached from the deaths of my fellow-students in HS (except one I knew well). I’m also a lot more sensitive to it, now. I bet a lot of it is just more maturity — more ability to empathize, maybe?

    And I can relate to liking the big, open spaces. I do miss that, though the mtns are wonderful too.

  5. Jewel said

    I lost to good friends in High School. Its really not something I like to talk about. And it was so hard when my kids started to drive!

  6. Well said.

    I wonder if there’s an engineering solution to the problem. Besides the obvious not licensing drivers until 18, which is impractical in rural areas…In California, you can’t have underage passengers until you’ve had your license six months. I haven’t looked up if it reduces highway fatalities.

    My Mom was actually killed on a rural (Alaskan) highway, and tons of people across Alaska are killed every year on the rural roads. Something about long distances and two-laned roads?

    I do know there is a trend in the US of kids getting their licenses later now, 17 or 18 or even older. This is attributed to the increased expense of insuring the kids…

Leave a Reply

