FO: Debbie Bliss Cabled Tank

April 24, 2009

After enjoying a lovely tour of two of Calgary’s greatest yarn stores buying extra balls of the cashmerino aran in colour 202 (powder blue), and waiting for a lovely spring cold snap, the cabled tank made its debut yesterday:

debbie-bliss-cabled-tank-done

The little sleeves are extremely clever, they are simply cast on to the main body, but when sewn up and a bit of ribbing applied they seem like cap sleeves.  I knit the medium size, with waist shaping in the middle (you know, at the waist).  I knit all 8 3/4″ of the recommended turtleneck size, as I do love a warm chin.  I think its a schooch big on me, but I don’t mind really as its not that noticable.  It does make me look really wide however, which I wasn’t expecting with all those vertical cable lines.  But then again, when you have hips, there isn’t much you can do about that! 

This pattern is from the first Debbie Bliss magazine, which I quite liked.  Lately I’ve been really liking the DB magazines, loving Vogue Knitting, enjoying Knit 1. and being not too inspired by Interweave sweaters.  I’m sure next year that will change however! 

Its playoff season here in Calgary (NHL hockey you know, like there are any other sports?).  My co-workers are growing their beards until the Flames finish up.  The next big game is on Saturday night, and I don’t even have to look up whether they won or not, just see my co-workers on Monday morning.  Shaved = not good!

Enjoy your weekend everyone!  My weekend is all about taking my first steps towards my new goals, and getting ready to launch!  I’m getting really excited about my new food scale, and how I’m going to use it to split one ball of sock yarn into two equal balls.  Or to weigh my sock and determine if I have enough yarn to finish it.  OR to weigh sock yarn and find out if I have enough to make baby socks.  And also to weigh food, that too.

3 Responses to “FO: Debbie Bliss Cabled Tank”

  1. sayingthings said

    They’re best for weighing yarn and fiber. And I use mine to determine exact food cost from time to time because I am a nerd. I like the tank. Again, you made a pattern I would never have considered and it looks great (you don’t look wide in the photo, by the way).

  2. Jen said

    I’ve been feeling the same way about Interweave and I’m trying to decide whether or not to let my subscription lapse. The Summer issue preview was down right dismal in my opinion.

  3. Jewel said

    I love the sweater! And I also love hockey!

Leave a Reply

