In other diet news…

May 13, 2009

My yarn diet is still ongoing, except for that “couldn’t find it anywhere else vacation yarn”. 

yarn diet in may

I am officially half way there, with one shawl being over half way done, a sweater done down to the yoke, and a new pair of socks to cast on tonight.  The President, Treasurer, and Social Director of my Knitting Committee have recently taken a vote to the effect that the yarn diet is over no matter what for the Olds Fibre Festival (June 27).  Don’t you love it when your knitting committee is made up of solely yourself, and you can make decisions like this?  That means that at the end of June I’ll have to see how much progress I’ve made on the ol’ chart pictured above.  I may be able to finish one or two shawl/scarves, a pair of socks, and even a sweater in that time?  The lawyer of my knitting committee has just informed me that forward looking statements such as that cannot be trusted, and that we will not be held liable for them.

I have also discovered that when one has an extemely tall boyfriend, one should never let him hold the umbrella, as then you are guaranteed to get wet in the rain:

Anne and Julian in the rain

8 Responses to “In other diet news…”

  1. Anne said

    I love that pic. And the fact he has on a short-sleeved shirt, and you are wearing a coat, scarf and gloves (and maybe other layers?).

  2. :-).

    Even as “little” as an 11″ height difference is enough to require separate umbrellas, unless everyone’s swathed in Gore-tex.

  3. margene said

    But if you hold the umbrella you’ll poke out his eye!
    Good decision by your committee. One cannot miss the fun of a fiber festival!

  4. Cheryl S. said

    I don’t really think that flowery umbrella suits him anyway.

  5. Cheryl said

    May I suggest a golf umbrella?

  6. Jewel said

    But if you hold the unbrella you’ll poke his eye out! He is one tall guy.

  7. melanie said

    I love that last photo! I find walking with the Mister a pain when we are trying to share an umbrella and our height difference isn’t all that big. 😉

  8. Billy said

    Do you ever have to knit for him? Just small scarves? Maybe a pair of mitts? I can´t imagine surviving the knitting of a sweater to such a tall person! That´s good we´re all kind of short around here!

Leave a Reply

