Wingin’ it

June 5, 2009

Isn’t it fun to just sit down with a ball of yarn, some needles, a bit of an idea, and just wing it?  Making baby hats is a great way to do this, as it really doesn’t matter what size it turns out, as long as its in the neighbourhood of 17 inches in circumference.  If its a bit bigger, call it a toddler hat! 

There is a lovely lady in my knitting group, the soon to be Mrs B. who regularly knits like this, without a pattern.  One evening I found myself reflecting that I knit from patterns all the time, and may be a bit dependent on patterns actually.  That is not to say I don’t have a lot of good ideas for doing things on my own, but when push comes to shove I tend to sit down with a pattern instead of forging my own trail.  I never just sit down and wing it.  That is why it was fun to finally sit down and cast on 96 stitches, do a bit of rib, and then just see what happened.  Moss stitch sounded like fun.  And most of you know by now my love of bobbles.  Now it just needs a nice big pom-pom to finish off the final effect!

Baby hat in turquoise

I’m looking forward to wingin’ it more often.  We have received an overwhelming amount of donations for the MS Fundraiser yard sale to be held tomorrow chez moi.  Unfortunately the weather forecast now has snow, and maybe rain in it!!!  The current plan is to wake up nice and early, and if nothing is coming out of the sky be ready at 8 am for business.  If it is snowing, hailing, sleeting, or raining we will retire inside with cups of tea to watch the Space Channel.  The hard part will be not eating any of the four batches of cookies that I’ve been baking. 

Hope you have a good weekend in your neck of tha woods!

2 Responses to “Wingin’ it”

  1. Jen said

    Ooo what a great idea! Bobbles on baby hats… I may have to copy you!

  2. Teri said

    You make a mean bobble – mine are always floppy looking.

Leave a Reply

