California Souvenirs

June 24, 2009

I left California on Saturday, made it to Denver, and got stuck overnight.  Oh well, I did make it home on Sunday, changed out the suitcase, and left again Monday morning.  At least Mr. J is at home spoiling the kitties with lots of lap sitting and scritches under the chin.  However the weather here in Saskatchewan is lovely with a big open blue sky overhead, and a beautiful breeze.  I keep wandering away from the water plant to go and visit the local lilac tree, just to smell the wonderful scent.  I went on a bit of a bike ride down the road yesterday evening the highlights of which are: slight turns left and right, and a 0,0001 degree hill, hardly noticeable until I turned around and went down it.  I rode a half hour, then turned around, and was able to see the goal, the steeples of the church in the distance.  Sure is flat out here!

I was able to find a cute little beading/yarn store in Old Town San Diego, and treated myself to the perfect California Souvenir: Golden Sock yarn specially dyed for the Sheperdess yarn store.  Isn’t it lovely and sunny?

Golden California Yarn

I’m going to save it for winter, so that the cheery sunny colours cheer me up.  I also enjoyed all the flowers in California, there were purple flowered trees everywhere, and we were walking on a carpet of purple:

Purple San Diego Flowers

Its always important to stop and smell the flowers.

4 Responses to “California Souvenirs”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Oooh – the Jacaranda trees! Aren’t they lovely?

  2. Sunnyknitter said

    Wish we could have met up, next time. Your SK description cracked me up! Sniff extra lilac for me.

  3. margene said

    I didn’t know Shepherdess turned into a yarn store, too! I loved their beads last time I visited. Old Town is one of my favorite places!

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    Sunny San Diego yarn, love it!

Leave a Reply

