Where Life Makes Sense

July 13, 2009

The motto of Swift Current is “Where Life Makes Sense”.  Doesn’t that sound like a wonderful place to live?  All of your problems, dilemmas, worries, anxieties, everything melts away, and finally makes sense.  Your path is clear, your future is certain, and everything is simple. 

Of course, there is another side of Swift Current, which belies the motto.  Perhaps for the magic to work you need to stay, rather than just passing through.  Today I just stopped for gas, then went inside the Husky Store to use their washroom.  As I opened the door to the LADIES Washroom (clearly marked with one of those outline drawings of a stick figure wearing a skirt) I saw to my absolute HORROR, an older gentleman on the can with his shorts around his ankles, a look of intense concentration on his face that quickly turned towards me in surprise.  I recoiled quickly, most likely exclaiming “Eeewwwh”.  At first I was still considering using the LADIES washroom when HE was done (I really had to go) but remembering his look of concentration I picked up a really yummy rice crispy square with fruit loops in it (cause that makes sense to me) some decaf coffee, and headed to the check out.  Then, I swear I’m not making this up, the guys WIFE came out of the MENS bathroom, also clearly marked with a outline of a stick figure not wearing a skirt.  We all made our purchases (me staring at the floor), headed out to our respective cars, they got into their giant white pick-up.  They then drove to the access road, put on their left turn signal, and turned right. 

I hope your lives make sense, and you didn’t see anything today that will remain burned on your retina for far too long.

7 Responses to “Where Life Makes Sense”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    Ha ha ha! I did see a very weird apparently home-built motorcycle-turned-trike with 60’s style fins today. I’m glad I saw that instead of what you saw.

  2. Julie said

    That is so funny! I know I wouldn’t have waited.

  3. Jen said

    Well! If that experience doesn’t warrant a purchase of cashmere, I don’t know what does!! YIKES!

  4. Heather Joins The Round said

    It would make sense to me to LOCK THE DOOR when using a public toilet.

    I actually had this happen to me when we were camping in Lake Tahoe, except the washrooms were unisex. What is it with men, are they not used to locking the door because of the urinals or something? I shut the door very quickly, apologizing profusely and loudly. Geez, lock the door!!!

  5. sayingthings said

    Maybe life was just making a little too much darn sense for them lately and they needed to shake things up.

  6. Teri said

    Compared to that I think my life makes sense now…

  7. Mom said

    Maybe she’s the one who wears the pants in that family.

Leave a Reply

