Modeled Toques

July 30, 2009

Anne and Corinna in toques

There we are, myself and the team Captain.  I gave the third toque to another lady on our team, and she obligingly wore it all night long.  The response I got from our team and the one next door was pretty positive.  They seemed to think the glow in the dark feature was pretty cool, but they may just have been humouring me.  Sometimes when you hit newbies with this level of geeky knitting, they don’t quite now what to make of it.  I noticed that people were staring at my head during the night as I walked around, which was amusing.  I’m going to make more of these for next year (we’re already signed up!) BUT I’m going to sell them.  Anyone who wants one has to make a donation, no matter how small, to the MSRide Fund. 

If any of you clever cats noticed the wedding veil hanging from the door, its because one of our teammates came directly from her honeymoon to race.  Our captain was attempting to have her wear it during her lap!  Too bad she didn’t do it, it would have been great!

Quick hat pattern:

Cast on a multiple of 12 stitches, in a needle size .5 mm smaller than the main part of the hat will be.  Knit 1 inch in some type of ribbing.  Increase 12 stitches on last row.  Change to main needles, knit until hat is 5.5-6 inches long, it depends on how deep it needs to be, head size, ear coverage desired etc.  My head is 22 inches around, I tend to cast on 96 stitches and increase 12 from there.  When the hat is long enough, knit 10, knit 2 together all the way around.  Knit one row.  Knit 9, knit 2 together, etc until the last row of all knit 2 together.  Draw together the last stitches, and sew up the toque with the end if you have knit if flat, or just close the hole if knit in the round.  Ta Da!!

4 Responses to “Modeled Toques”

  1. Heather Joins The Round said

    Looks good! I love your fund-raising idea.

  2. Julie said

    What a cute picture!

  3. Barb B. said

    Hi! Looks like you are having fun, which is a bonus when you are doing a great thing.
    Could you please email me when you get home? About the yarn you bought at Olds.

  4. sayingthings said

    That is a good idea. And maybe I’ll have to take you up on it (saves me ordering any glow-in-the-dark yarn, you know?)

Leave a Reply

