Saturday = Nothing Day

July 31, 2009

Mr. J and I have declared Saturday to be a Nothing Day.  I’ve even written it in my day timer “Nothing”.  We’ve been so busy the last few weeks/months, and we’ve having a day to do nothing, or whatever we want to do really.  Mr. J asked if by “Nothing” it meant he could bring his laptop into the bedroom, lay in bed all day watching shows, to which the anwer was “Yes, you can do whatever you want”.  You just don’t “have” to do anything!  I’m so excited about this. 

My plans are to have a leisurely breakfast with eggs, veggie breakfast sausage (or the poor substitute to Boca veggie sausages that us poor northerns can get), coffee, whilst watching Space Channel and a cat on my lap for awhile.  Then I’m heading up to my knitting room to listen to podcasts, and perhaps download “Stuart McLeans Tales from the Vinyl Cafe” from Itunes.  I may wander out to the deck if its a nice day.  Maybe I’ll even work on my tan in my bikini and see if any of my neighbours notice.  In Calgary our houses are so close together pretty much all the neighbours are privy to everyones backyard doings.  So far my knitting plans include:

1) Finishing a donkey I made approximately 4 years ago that I just have to sew up, stuff, make its mane and tail

2) Finish my pink shawl (working on the last few petals with my super petal powers)

3) Make the sleeves on the February Jacket (I had one almost done, but had to rip it out due to hugeness)  I’m also attempting to master magic loop technique to avoid the dpns on the lace pattern.

4) Start the Flower Child sweater

5) If I get my copy of Vogue Knitting, make five hats from it

6) Start Icarus

7) Finish my Betty Stockings, currently in time out due to need to increase the top of the sock.  My calves aren’t fitting into the standard sizing, one side effect of all the biking I guess.

8 ) Make a pair of mittens to test pattern.  I’m planning on making wedding mittens (2 pairs) for a friend in October, so I need to start making a pattern.  Current plan is to put their initials, and the wedding date on them.

9) Have a nap.

All in one day apparently, we’ll see how it goes!  We have Monday off for our fine Civic Long Weekend (otherwise known as an extra long weekend that was made up so that we get one each month in the summer Woohoo!).  Have a great weekend everyone!!

5 Responses to “Saturday = Nothing Day”

  1. Cheryl S. said

    In one day? Riiiiiiiight.

  2. Monica said

    Your plans sound fabulous. I envy your ability to have a “do nothing” day, as somehow I don’t think my 4 year old would go for it. 😉 And hey, shapely calves are HOT on a woman!

  3. Heather Joins The Round said

    Sounds good to me, man!

  4. Julie said

    I need a day like that!!!!

  5. Sandi(Evilknittingtwin) said

    \took your lead and have done nothing but what I wanted to today! But then I do try to have one of those days at least every other weekend!
    Have spent most of the day sleeping in, working on my tan, dipping in the pool and now about to watch the football game and knit. Hope you had a great day!

Leave a Reply

